Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge

GBBO book and my version of the Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge

GBBO book and my version of the Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge

If like me you are a little bit obsessed with the Great British Bake Off, you can understand my delight when I was given the latest GBBO book as a present. The book titled the Great British Bake Off Everyday is written by Linda Collister with recipes from Mary Berry, Paul Hollywood and the Series 4 contestants. After browsing through the book I decided to start at the very beginning with the Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge, using plump in season blackberries.

It proved to be a very simple and straight forward recipe. I have a fan assisted oven, so I baked my cake at 160c rather than the 180c stated in the recipe. After 35 minutes I checked my cake and I could tell that it was nowhere near ready, I popped it back for another 10 minutes. This time I tested the middle of the cake with a piece of dry spaghetti, but it still wasn’t cooked through. The cake was finally baked to perfection after being in the oven for 1 hour!

Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge

Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge

The cake is quite moist and a bit zingy with the buttermilk and tart blackberries. I let the cake cool down before I sliced it and enjoyed it with a lovely cup of tea. I recommend you try this recipe if you are planning on having an afternoon tea.

The next recipe I want to try is Paul’s Apricot Couronne. The GBBO contestants did so well with this technical challenge in episode 6 I feel inspired to have a go.

4 thoughts on “Blackberry Buttermilk Sponge

    • Julie says:

      That sounds like a good plan. I’m so glad you commented, I’ve been looking at your site and it looks absolutely great. I’m new to blogging and so far it’s seems a great way to meet like minded people like yourself. Thank you so much for getting in touch. x

    • Julie says:

      Thank you, that’s kind. I’ve tried to reply 3 times but it doesn’t appear to be working my end but apologies if you get 3 replies. Yes I’m on twitter at @Juliemcpher. Are you on twitter too?

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

