Nigella’s Pasta Risotto with Peas and Pancetta

image

About a year ago I was given a copy of Nigellissima by Nigella Lawson as a present, since then it has become my favourite Nigella book. The recipes are Italian inspired in that they use Italian ingredients or are based on Italian recipes.

I strongly recommend you try the following recipes:

Meringue gelato cake with chocolate sauce – a delicious and decadent dessert for adults

Chocolate olive oil cake – a moist chocolate cake for chocoholics

Curly edged pasta with lamb ragu – a comforting pasta dish with a hint of chilli

Pasta risotto with peas and pancetta – a big hug of a dinner

The latter is probably the recipe I make most frequently, so much I think that I’ve memorised it. There are 2 good things about the pasta risotto firstly it is very quick, much quicker than a traditional risotto. Secondly, I usually have all the ingredients (or that I now shop so I have all the ingredients). The pasta risotto is not made using traditional risotto rice but rice shaped pasta called orzo. Some supermarkets stock orzo alongside rice products whereas some stock it with the numerous varieties of pastas. I either buy the brands Merchant Gourmet or Cook Italian, purely because the supermarkets where I shop have yet to stock their own brand, maybe they will soon.

Do give this recipe a try, I’m sure you will enjoy it. Thank you Nigella.

5 thoughts on “Nigella’s Pasta Risotto with Peas and Pancetta

  1. Pete Cheesman says:

    I agree with you Julie, Pasta Risotto with Peas and Pancette is fantastic. Tesco sells orzo pasta as one go their Finest Range.

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

