Chicken and Mushroom Risotto Style Orzo

Risotto Style Orzo

Risotto Style Orzo

If you have been following my blog, let me say ‘Thank you, I appreciate your support and lovely comments’. If this is your first visit ‘Welcome, I hope you enjoy and come back again’.

Earlier in the month I posted a review of Nigella’s Pasta Risotto with Peas and Pancetta, which discussed the benefit of using orzo pasta instead of the traditional risotto rice when making risotto. I’ve come to love type of dish and I usually make it if I’m eating alone, I’m not sure why it’s just the way it is. I don’t have bags of time to hover over a stove so this method of making a risotto style meal appeals a lot to me. I adore roast chicken so I thought pairing chicken and earthy mushrooms together would make a lovely autumnal orzo risotto. The chicken stock and a good grinding of black pepper in the recipe gives it a bit of oomph. I like to serve mine topped with rockets leaves.

Ingredients (Serves 1 easily doubled)

2 Chicken thighs (skin on and bone in)
80g Mushrooms
125g Orzo pasta
350ml Chicken stock (made using 1/2 Kallo organic chicken stock cube)
1 1/2 tablespoon Parmesan cheese (finely grated)
1 tablespoon Olive oil
Salt and Black Pepper
Rocket leaves

Method

1. Pre heat the oven to Fan 180c.

2. Place the chicken thighs in a non stick baking tray and drizzle with a little olive oil and season with salt and pepper, roast for 40 mins until the chicken is cooked through.

3. Shred the chicken meat off the bones and set aside.

4. Heat the olive oil in a heavy casserole pan.

5. Quarter slice the mushrooms and sauté them in the olive oil for about 5 minutes.

6. Add the orzo pasta to the pan and stir to coat the pasta in the residue oil and mushroom juices.

7. Pour in the hot chicken stock and add the shredded chicken. Season with salt and black pepper.

8. Bring to the boil and then simmer on a low heat for about 15 minutes until the stock has been absorbed.

9. Take the pan off the heat and stir in the grated Parmesan and add more black pepper if necessary.

10. Serve garnished with a handful of rocket leaves on top.

Like always do let me know what you think, especially if you have had the opportunity to try this recipe.

Until next time.

Julie

Link up your recipe of the week
7 thoughts on “Chicken and Mushroom Risotto Style Orzo

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

