Pizza the ASK Italian way

Homemade Pepperoni Pizza

Homemade Pepperoni Pizza

I am a big fan of the ASK Italian restaurant chain, if you have been following my blog you’ll see that I like pasta and pizza a lot. So after visiting our local restaurant a few times my husband bought me The ASK Italian Cookbook, at the end of our meal. The pleasing thing about this, as well as getting a fab new cookbook, is that £4 of the proceeds go to Great Ormond Street Children’s Charity. How wonderful is that!

The book is a collection of recipes from the Ask Italian restaurants, Italian experts, chef Theo Randall and author Carla Capalbo. It features chapters on starters, pasta, risottos, pizza, fish and meat, salads and vegetables, desserts and a long list of sauces. So far, I have made the Insalata di Rucola (Rocket Salad), Penne con Salsiccia e Porcini (Penne with Italian Sausage, porcini mushrooms and tomato) and now the Basic Pizza Dough.

I found the pizza dough incredibly wet and sticky but I persevered with the recipe and resisted adding any extra flour. Eventually the dough came together, relief! After the dough had been divided into 4 (making 4 pizzas) and proved, I was ready to make my pizzas.

Pizza Dough

Pizza Dough

I stretched and then rolled the dough into large circles, as best I could. Then I topped the pizza dough with passata, grated mozzarella, pepperoni and peppers. The pizzas then went in a really hot oven until the dough began to crisp.

Pizza ready for the oven

Pizza ready for the oven

The baked pizzas tasted like real pizzas should, with a beautifully thin crisp base. I’ve made pizza from scratch before but had forgotten how easy it is, I’ll definitely be making pizza again soon.

Buon Appetito.

Julie

4 thoughts on “Pizza the ASK Italian way

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

