Frugal Soup

Warming soup and soda bread

Warming soup and soda bread

During the last few years I have become acutely aware of how much food gets wasted and how many people go hungry. This world-wide problem is not something I can solve but with this in mind I’m trying to be more creative with the ingredients I have and not waste anything.

This delicious soup is the result of frugal me using up half a butternut squash and five spindly carrots left in the fridge. I’m pleased to say that the soup was quite yummy, mopped up with the very last of the cheese and sun-dried tomato soda bread made a few days ago.

Ingredients (Serves 2)

1/2 butternut squash (285g approx)
5 carrots (175g approx)
1 small onion
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/4 teaspoon ground mixed spice
1 Kallo organic chicken stock cube
600ml water (reserved from the cooked carrots)
Salt and pepper

Method

1. Peel and chop the carrots and butternut squash into about 1.5cm chunks. Roughly chop the onion and set aside.

2. Pre heat the oven to Fan 200c.

3. Par boil the carrots for about 8-10 minutes, then drain the cooking water into a jug to be used for making up the stock.

4. Place the butternut squash and par boiled carrots into a baking tray.

5. Drizzle with the olive oil, add a pinch of salt and a grinding of black pepper. Then, add the ground mixed spice and toss everything together.

6. Place in the oven and roast for 15 minutes.

7. Remove from the oven and add the chopped onion, stir everything round and then place back in for a further 20 minutes.

8. Meanwhile, make up the stock using 600ml of the carrot cooking water and the stock cube.

9. Remove the roast vegetables from the oven, double-check they are cooked by piercing with a knife, if soft then they are done.

10. Transfer the vegetables to a blender and add half of the stock, then blitz. Check the seasoning and add more salt and pepper if necessary along with more stock. Then blitz in the blender again.

I only used 450ml of the stock but add more if you prefer a runnier soup.

Your soup is now ready to serve. I like to have a little grinding of black pepper on top of mine and eat it with cheese and sun-dried tomato soda bread.

Do you have any frugal soup recipes? I would love to hear about them. Don’t forget you can leave your thoughts in the comments box below.

Until next time.

Julie

4 thoughts on “Frugal Soup

  1. Two Peas & A Wad says:

    This is right up my alley! I am all about saving money and this recipe helps do just that. I love butternut squash soup so I will definitely have to give this a try! I’m lucky enough to have organic butternut squash in my local grocery store, a tough find in most places- our produce has different “standards” here in the U.S. unfortunately 😦 Looking forward to reading more from you! (I also love reading the bicarbonate of soda for what we call “baking soda” and double cream for what we call “heavy cream”!). Feel free to check out my blog anytime, I write about living an organic lifestyle on a budget.

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

