Indian Cookery Class at the Waitrose Cookery School

I do love entering competitions, I’ve won a few small things in the past but nothing significant. You can imagine my sheer delight when I received an email from myWaitrose telling me I had won two places at the Indian Cookery Class to be held at the Waitrose Cookery School in North London. Apparently 13,000 people entered the competition, the same odds as getting on the Great British Bake Off so maybe I should try my luck with that too.

A Trio of Indian Kebabs

A Trio of Indian Kebabs

So my mum and I headed off for what was to be a culinary adventure in the world of aromatic spices. The class was hosted by guest chef Jay Ghosh who is chef/proprietor of Potli an Indian kitchen style restaurant. Our day began with Jay demonstrating how to make a trio of kebabs, Chicken Hariyali (the green one), Chicken Malai Tikka (the red one) and the Potli Chicken Tikka (the white one). We then went back to our kitchen work stations, thankfully the chicken had been prepared for us and all we needed to do was skewer the meat ready for the oven.

Once cooked we all sat down to enjoy our early starter. The chicken kebabs were full of flavour due to the complex mixture of spices used. My favourite was the Chicken Malai Tikka, which was similar in taste to an ordinary chicken tikka but better.

After eating our starter we watched chef Jay demonstrating how to make the Chicken Lababdar and the Kashmiri Pulao. This time I paid extra special attention as we had to then go and make this ourselves. Cooking in the kitchen was great fun especially working with my mum, it was a real team effort. I think the biggest achievement for me was successfully cooking the rice. Well cooked rice is something that I have at times struggled with. I’ve learnt that stirring the rice agitates the grains and that in turn makes the rice sticky.

The best bit is of course the eating, once our food was cooked we were able to sit down and enjoy our meal with a glass of wine. The Chicken Lababdar was gorgeous and can only be described as a luxurious chicken tikka masala.

Chicken Lababdar and Kashmiri Pulao

Chicken Lababdar and Kashmiri Pulao

Later in the day we made Srikhand for our dessert which consisted of sour cream, mascarpone and spices. This was absolutely delicious and definitely something I would like to make again. You’ll see from the picture that it is topped with fried vermicelli, which beautifully contrasted with the creamy mixture below.

Srikhand

Srikhand

The Indian Cookery Class at the Waitrose Cookery School was an amazing experience. It was lovely to try some Indian food that I had never eaten before and learn to cook it for myself. The staff and chef Jay made it a very memorable day.

Until next time.

Julie

9 thoughts on “Indian Cookery Class at the Waitrose Cookery School

  1. Vinny Grette says:

    Sounds like fun! Did you know we have a Waitrose in Saskatchewan? I clicked here thinking it would be about native american indian cooking in the wild west! Enjoyed your blog anyway :).

    PS The town in Saskatchewan is called Watrous, not Waitrose – oh well 🙂

  2. Linda says:

    A great day, I thoroughly enjoyed it, I have never really been a big fan of Indian food but I have to say it was all delicious and I have been inspired to have a go myself. Julie’s Mum.

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

