Nigella’s Curly Edged Pasta with Lamb Ragu

Lamb ragu

After the festivities of Christmas, we start to think about non Christmas food. I like to make Lamb ragu made using Nigella Lawson’s recipe from Nigellissima and it is definitely something I recommend you try. Nigellissima is my most used Nigella book and I talked about that when I reviewed her Pasta Risotto with Peas and Pancetta.

The lamb ragu incorporates the flavours of mint and red currant jelly, giving this dish an English Italian vibe. There is a hint of chilli too, so it ticks lots of boxes for me when it comes to taste.

Until recently I was unable to find in my supermarket mafaldine pasta, the distinct curly edged ribbons of pasta used in this recipe. So I thought I would try my local Italian deli and of course they came up trumps. Better still when I went to pay for the packet of mafaldine, the sales assistant told me the pasta was on a 3 for 2 deal, hooray!! So expect to see a few recipes featuring mafaldine in the future.

Overall this dish works and it works very well indeed. Like most of Nigella’s recipes it is straight forward, which I think cooking should be particularly when cooking mid week meals.

If you don’t have a copy if Nigellissma, then there is a very similar recipe using pappardelle at Nigella.com. So, if you are stuck in a mid week meal rut, have a go at making Lamb Ragu. If you are like me it will become a recipe you can add to your cooking repertoire.

Before I go, I’d like to wish you all a very Happy New Year.

Until next time.

Julie
x

5 thoughts on “Nigella’s Curly Edged Pasta with Lamb Ragu

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

