Spinach and Pepperoni with Mafaldine Pasta

Spinach an pepperoni with mafaldine pasta

Happy New Year, I have an easy peasy recipe for you as we begin 2014.

This quick pasta dish is made with mafaldine pasta, a unique long pasta with crinkly edges. I think it’s rather fun to experiment with different pasta types and this one is very pretty on the plate. One night, I needed a speedy supper for one and after taking a look in my fridge and freezer, this was the result. It was quite good too.

Ingredients (Serves 1 easily doubled)

100g mafaldine pasta
6 slices of pepperoni
65g frozen spinach (approx weight or use a handful of fresh spinach instead)
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
2 tablespoons double cream
1/8 teaspoon chilli flakes

Method

1. In a large saucepan of salted boiling water cook the mafaldine pasta until al dente.

2. Meanwhile, heat the oil in a pan and then sauté the frozen spinach until wilted.

3. Slice the pepperoni in strips about 1cm wide and add to the pan.

4. Remove a small cup of the pasta cooking water and set aside.

5. When the pasta is cooked drain it and then add the pasta to the pan of spinach and pepperoni. Also, add to the pan a splash of the cooking water, the cream and chilli flakes.

6. Stir on the heat until everything is heated through. Then serve.

This is an ideal meal if you are late in from work or are short of time. I hope you enjoy, like always let me know what you think.

Here’s to a great year of cooking.

Until next time.

Julie

Link up your recipe of the week
11 thoughts on “Spinach and Pepperoni with Mafaldine Pasta

  1. Le Coin de Mel says:

    Hi Julie,
    I found your recipe through your entry in Emily Leary’s blog as I was entering my first recipe (the bread one). I love chorizo in pasta, and have been making the same recipe for years on busy working nights, as it is so easy and delicious (had it tonight actually!). I cannot wait to try your recipe. Will pin right away, and follow your blog on Bloglovin’ (love the design of the blog by the way!).
    Mel

    • Julie says:

      Hi Mel, thank you so much for your lovely comment and deciding to follow my blog. I will take a look at your blog too. Thank you for deciding to follow, that’s a great compliment. Best Wishes. Julie

  2. Emily @amummytoo says:

    This looks so delicious. The creaminess and the spinach and the little flecks of colour. Mmmm. Thanks for joining in with #recipeoftheweek – I’ve pinned and tweeted this recipe 🙂 There’s a fresh linky live at the moment, so do please pop over if you haven’t already, especially as you’re showcase ;D

    • Julie says:

      Thanks Emily for picking this recipe, I’m delighted. I’ve added my Roast Butternut Squash soup recipe into this week’s #recipeoftheweek linky.

  3. Le Coin de Mel says:

    Hi Julie,
    Just a quick note to let you know that I made your pasta for dinner tonight (with Tripoline pasta – could not find the one you used), and it was delicious, easy to make on a work night, and I will be making it again! Mel

    • Julie says:

      Hi Mel, I’m so pleased you liked it. The mafaldine pasta is best found in an Italian deli. I think you’ve used a great alternative which is just as pretty on the plate. Thanks for keeping me updated. 😊

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

