Chilli Con Carne (never reach for a jar again!)

Chilli con carne

Chilli Con Carne is a meal I’ve eaten and cooked many times, but until recently I always reached for a jar of cooking sauce. In my quest to become a better cook I’ve recently had a go at making my own. I researched which herbs and spices should be used and for this recipe I’ve added that magic ingredient, dark chocolate for richness.

Ingredients (Serves 3)

250g lean mince beef
1/2 tablespoon vegetable or sunflower oil
1 medium onion
1 teaspoon ground cumin
1/2 teaspoon ground coriander
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/4 teaspoon dried chilli flakes
1 tablespoon plain flour
400g tin chopped tomatoes
420g tin kidney beans in chilli sauce (Sainsbury’s stock these)
125ml boiling water
1/4 Kallo organic beef stock cube
10g dark chocolate (72% cocoa)
Basmati rice
Sour cream (optional)

Method

1. Heat the oil in a large lidded casserole pan.

2. Finely chop the onion and then sauté for 3 minutes.

3. Then brown the mince in the same pan.

4. Add the cumin, ground coriander, oregano and chilli flakes. Cook for 3 minutes.

5. Add the flour, stirring on the heat for a minute.

6. Next, make up the stock using the stock cube and boiling water and add it to the pan. Also, add the tinned tomatoes, kidney beans in their chilli sauce, the chocolate and a good pinch of salt.

7. Stir everything round and bring to the boil. Then simmer on a low heat with the lid on for 45 minutes.

8. Serve on a bed of basmati rice and a dollop of sour cream, if you have it.

Do try this recipe, it really is quite delicious. Like always let me know what you think.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Link up your recipe of the week
27 thoughts on “Chilli Con Carne (never reach for a jar again!)

  1. Le Coin de Mel says:

    I love Chilli Con Carne, and every time I make it, I grab the easy packet of mixed spices, thinking I should make it myself… here is an incentive! I will pin this recipe right away! Mel

  2. Caroline (Becoming a SAHM) says:

    Ooh this is interesting – like you I always reach for a jar but I know I should try and make it. this recipe sounds great and interesting – especially with the added chocolate. Pinning to try! xx #tastytuesdays

  3. Le Coin de Mel says:

    I was actually thinking about your recipe last week-end when my husband made his Chilli Con Carne with a sachet of spices again… Must try your recipe! Next time… Mel #TastyTuesdays

  4. sarahhillwheeler says:

    Love chilli con carne, but afraid I am still in packet-mix territory. I love the way that you have evolved your own and I would never have thought of adding a smidgin of chocolate. I msut try this! #TastyTuesday.

  5. Emily @amummytoo says:

    Sounds and looks perfect. You’ve made me hungry! Thanks so much for linking up with #recipeoftheweek. I’ve pinned and tweeted this post and hope to see you linking up again soon! 😀 x

  6. Vanesther says:

    Chilli con carne is one of our favourite meals in our house but I’ve never tried it with chocolate. Must give it a go very soon as yours looks very tasty indeed. Thanks so much for sharing in this month’s Spice Trail challenge 🙂

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

