Roast Butternut Squash Soup

Roast Butternut Squash Soup

Warming and gently spiced with sweet cinnamon this tasty soup is lovely with wholemeal crusty bread. I’ve topped my soup with a swirl of sour cream making it a little indulgent and simply delicious.

Home made soup tastes so superior to anything you can buy in the shops. Most importantly, it gives you greater control over the level of salt in your soup. If you’re especially concerned I would suggest using a low salt stock cube or make your own stock instead. Home made soup is usually very economical too, another good reason for making it yourself. Plus not forgetting eating a vegetable soup like this one is a great way of increasing your vegetable intake.

Ingredients (Serves 2)

600g butternut squash (peeled weight and cut into 2.5cm cubes)
1 small onion chopped
600ml boiling water
1 Kallo organic chicken stock cube
1 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
A little sour cream

Method

1. Pre heat the oven to Fan 200c.

2. Put the butternut squash cubes in a large roasting tray, drizzle with the olive oil and sprinkle over the cinnamon. Toss to ensure the butternut squash is evenly coated. Roast for 25 minutes.

3. Add the chopped onion and roast for a further 10 minutes.

4. Make up the stock with the water and stock cube.

5. Transfer the butternut squash and onion to a blender, then add half the stock, a pinch of salt and a grinding of black pepper and blitz.

6. Add the remaining stock and blitz in the blender again. Check the seasoning and add more salt and pepper if necessary.

7. Reheat if needed and serve with a swirl of sour cream.

Roast Butternut Squash Soup

This soup keeps well in a covered jug in the fridge for a couple of days. Like a lot of soups it does then thicken so just add a splash of boiled water when reheating.

Why not try my Spicy Carrot Soup and my Frugal Soup, both are packed full of flavour and are easy to make too. I hope you enjoy this soup as much as me and do let me know what you think.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Link up your recipe of the week
16 thoughts on “Roast Butternut Squash Soup

  1. Le Coin de Mel says:

    Julie, you are my kind of girl! Another recipe of yours going straight on my Pinterest “To Try” board. I love butternut squash, but have never made soup with it. I will not put cream in mine so my baby who is allergic to milk protein can have it, too! Thanks for sharing! Mel

  2. alexpolistigers says:

    This looks really delicious! I shall make it tomorrow, I have a butternut squash already. I might add a handful of parsley to mine when I serve, too, I’m always trying to get the children to eat some!

    • Julie says:

      What a cool name for soup. I’m glad you like the blog design, I really like it too. My blog is new(ish) and I’m slowly building on my collection of recipes. Thanks so much for stopping by. x

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

