Henry the Hedgehog Cake

Hedgehog Cake

To celebrate the birthday of my cheeky chappy I made a chocolate cake in the guise of another cheeky chappy, Henry the Hedgehog.

To make my chocolate hedgehog cake I followed Rachel Allen’s recipe from her book entitled ‘Cake‘.

Rachel Allen's Cake book

The recipe itself was a very straight forward chocolate sponge which I baked in a large Pyrex bowl. Once baked I let the cake cool down completely before tackling the next stage.

The assembly of the hedgehog shape was also fairly easy, although I was a little doubtful that I was going to manage it at first. Once, I had the right shape it was simply a case of covering the sponge with the chocolate buttercream. This was a bit tricky, as there’s nothing worse than crumbs in the buttercream so I took my time. Next I formed the face, first using a glacé cherry for the nose and then the ends of the biscuits as eyes. To create the hedgehog spikes I carefully pressed chocolate finger biscuits into the body of the cake. Henry the chocolate hedgehog was finished, ready in time for the special birthday.

Happy Birthday

Happy Birthday

Would I make this cake again? Yes, I would. Henry’s not perfect but nevertheless, I’m pretty happy with how he turned out and best of all he (I mean the cake) tasted quite delicious too.

Have you made any novelty cakes recently? I’d love to hear about them, let me know by leaving your comments in the box below.

Until next time.

Julie
x

6 thoughts on “Henry the Hedgehog Cake

  1. tanaseaurica says:

    wowwwww..it look’s so funny and beautiful,i love it, and i think the taste is so delicious and creamy, excellent 😀

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

