Smoked Mackerel Pate

Smoked mackerel pate

I love smoked mackerel, it’s got bags of flavour and livens up lunch time meals for me. You can buy ready made smoked mackerel pate in the supermarket but there’s no need when making your own is so easy. Here I’ve served mine with cracked black pepper Ryvita crispbread which is delicious. Alternatively, the mackerel pate would make an excellent starter served with sourdough toast.

Ingredients (Serves 2)

2 smoked mackerel fillets
2 tablespoons natural yoghurt
2 tablespoons full fat cream cheese (I used Philadelphia)
A good squeeze of lemon juice
1/2 tablespoon chopped chives
4 crispbread crackers such as Ryvita

Method

1. Remove the skin and bones from the mackerel, then in a large bowl mash the mackerel with a fork.

2. Add the yoghurt, cream cheese, lemon juice and chives.

3. Combine all the ingredients together and serve on the crispbread.

Smoked mackerel pate

There you have it, a lovely light lunch or starter that takes only minutes to prepare. I hope you enjoy.

Until next time.

Julie
x

16 thoughts on “Smoked Mackerel Pate

  1. Mel says:

    Hi Julie,
    I am not sure I would make mackerel pate, but your picture looks so appetising I would give it a go if you invited me for dinner! Mel

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

