Chorizo, Rocket and Tomatoes with Orzo

Hot chorizo orzo salad

I really needed to use up the last of the cooking chorizo in my fridge. I was debating on making Spanish style scrambled eggs but wasn’t in the mood for anything eggy particularly, so this is what I came up with instead. It was ready in under 15 minutes and tasted really good.

Chorizo like pancetta is fast becoming a staple fridge ingredient in my kitchen. I love how versatile it is and the way it releases paprika flavoured oils making everything taste wonderful. If like me you enjoy cooking and eating chorizo, then I’m sure you’ll like this dish too.

Ingredients (serves 1 easily doubled)

125g orzo pasta
55g diced cooking chorizo
Handful of rocket leaves
6 pomodorino or cherry tomatoes (halved)
Black pepper

Method

1. Cook the orzo pasta in a large pan of salted boiling water until al dente. Reserve a small cup of the pasta cooking water for later.

2. Meanwhile, fry the chorizo in a dry frying pan until it starts to crisp and release its oils.

3. Drain the pasta and add to the frying pan with the chorizo along with a splash of the pasta cooking water.

4. Add a handful of rocket leaves, the tomatoes and a grinding of black pepper. Turn up the heat for about 30 seconds and stir everything together. Then serve.

Hot chorizo orzo salad

If you haven’t already voted in the MAD Blog Awards I would be delighted if you would consider voting for me.

MAD Blog Awards

Until next time.

Julie
x

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Link up your recipe of the week
22 thoughts on “Chorizo, Rocket and Tomatoes with Orzo

  1. Le Coin de Mel says:

    I think I love chorizo as much as you do… will be pinning this one again (never had orzo pasta before). x Mel #TastyTuesdays

  2. Emily @amummytoo says:

    How attractive does that look?! Answer: VERY! Healthy too, which is what I need right now after a week developing desserts and doing lots of tasting. Oops.

    Thanks for linking up with #recipeoftheweek πŸ™‚ I’ve pinned and tweeted this post and there’s a fresh linky live now. Hope you join in x

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

