Mary Berry’s Bakewell Tart

Bakewell Tart

Bakewell Tart is absolutely my favourite kind of tart. It’s baked in a shortcrust pastry base then filled with lots of raspberry jam and almond frangipane. Finally, it’s finished off with sliced almonds and glacΓ© icing. Unless you have an aversion to almonds, this tart is a delight to eat. This quintessential English tart is believed to be derived from the Bakewell Pudding. The Bakewell Pudding appears to have been created quite by accident, however whilst I was researching the story I found different versions of the pudding’s creation so rather than post something inaccurate I’ll leave it there.

I used Mary Berry’s Bakewell Tart recipe from The Great Comic Relief Bake Off, which I found on the BBC Food website.

I was delighted with this Bakewell Tart and there wasn’t a soggy bottom in sight. (Yes, I’m suffering from Great British Bake Off withdrawal symptoms). The frangipane was extremely moist and bursting with almond flavour. I decided to use 4 tablespoons of seedless raspberry jam and not the 1 tablespoon stated on the website. I’m so glad I did, there would not have been anywhere near enough jam otherwise.

Bakewell Tart

The Bakewell Tart was a huge success with all my family enjoying it. As we were feeling a bit indulgent the tart was served with extra thick double cream, lovely. I would definitely recommend this recipe, it’s relatively easy and the resulting tart looks quite special. Most importantly, it tastes superb.

Bakewell tart

Bakewell tart

I hope you enjoy making this wonderful tart from Mary Berry. I’ll definitely be making it again soon.

Happy Baking.

Julie
x

I’ve entered this recipe into #CookBlogShare at Supergolden Bakes.

 photo 9af5d0df-b279-4c3c-92ad-fc98f562a39a_zpsaca21226.jpg

I’ve also entered this recipe into the Tea Time Treats challenge organised by Karen at Lavender and Lovage and Jane at The Hedgecombers. This months chocolate challenge is hosted by Jane.

Tea Time Treats

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

32 thoughts on “Mary Berry’s Bakewell Tart

  1. AJ @ The Dessert Course says:

    Looks great! I love anything with frangipane. I’ve made this before and totally agree, it needs the extra jam. No point doing things in small quantities haha

  2. The Free From Fairy says:

    That looks wonderful! I like the icing drizzled over the top…I have never thought of doing that before but next time I make my gluten and dairy-free version of this I will be adding the icing! Thanks for sharing.

  3. lucyparissi says:

    I love a good Bakewell. And you have to make it at home – the store versions always taste too artificial. This looks glorious! Thanks for linking it to #CookBlogShare

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

