Seeded Soda Bread

Seeded Wholemeal Soda Bread

For me there’s nothing more comforting than homemade bread and a bowl of hearty soup. I don’t often have enough time to bake yeasted bread so soda bread is a super speedy alternative when home baked bread is what I’m craving. For this loaf I’ve used some wholemeal flour in the dough mix along with pumpkin and sunflower seeds, resulting in a wholesome slightly nutty tasting loaf.

Seeded soda bread

Ingredients (makes 1 loaf)

225g plain flour
175g wholemeal plain flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
300ml buttermilk
25g pumpkin seeds
25g sunflower seeds
Extra seeds and flour for sprinkling on top

Method

1. Pre heat your oven to Fan 200c and line a baking sheet with baking parchment.

2. Put all the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix with a wooden spoon. Then, make a well in the centre.

3. Pour in the buttermilk and stir the mixture, finally bring the dough together with your hands.

4. On a floured surface shape the dough into a ball and then flatten. Place on the lined baking sheet and sprinkle with plain flour.

5. Using a sharp knife cut across the dough vertically and horizontally, forming a cross in the dough. Sprinkle a few seeds on top.

6. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes, then cover with foil and bake for a further 10 minutes.

7. Once baked the loaf will be golden brown and sound hollow when tapped underneath. Allow to cool on a wire rack.

So if you’re short of time but still want to bake some bread I recommend you try baking soda bread. Serve buttered with chunks of cheddar cheese or with a bowl of your favourite soup for a delicious lunch or supper.

Seeded Wholemeal Soda Bread

Seeded soda bread

If you liked this recipe take a look at my other soda bread recipes.

Cheddar Cheese and Onion Soda Bread

Cheese and Onion Soda Bread

Cheese and Sun Dried Tomato Soda Bread

Freshly baked Cheese and Sundried Tomato Soda Bread

Until next time, happy baking.

Julie
x

Tea Time Treats

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

23 thoughts on “Seeded Soda Bread

  1. Jenny says:

    I love a good bread. I could live off bread and cheese forever. I swear. My waistline might not like it but it would be heaven. This looks great. I will have to make some with my homemade soup this week. Thanks for sharing. #tastytuesday

  2. thenthefunbegan says:

    I just tried my hand at baking bread for the first time since I was at school and misread a teaspoon of salt for a tablespoon of salt! I’ve put the recipe (which I in turn nicked from another Mummy blogger!) up on #TastyTuesdays today but I’m now reading your soda bread recipes with great interest – they sound nice and easy too!

  3. sarahhillwheeler says:

    I “discovered” soda bread (along with beer bread) quite recently through other foodie blogs! I love this one though with the addition of the seeds really give it some serious character and your photos are gorgeous (I can almost smell the bread!).

  4. Le Coin de Mel says:

    There is nothing quite like homemade bread, is there? I bake three or four loaves a week and we would not go back to shop-bought ones. Pumpkin and sunflower seeds are my favourites! Your bread has a beautiful shape and the photos are stunning. I could eat that buttered slice right now! x Mel #TastyTuesdays

    • Julie says:

      Thank you Mel, so pleased you like it. I totally agree home made is best, I wish I could bake more often but just don’t seem to find enough time at the minute. x

    • Julie says:

      Thanks, I don’t know whether goats yoghurt will work or not but I guess it’s worth a try. Let me know if it’s successful if you try it out, as I’d love to know. 😊

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

