Avocado and Parma Ham Salad with Balsamic Dressing

Avocado and Parma ham salad

I don’t normally get excited about salads, cakes yes, pasta yes, salad no. However, this salad is different using some of my favourite ingredients creamy avocado, peppery rocket, salty Parmesan cheese and Parma ham in a sweet balsamic dressing this is pure heaven. For a long long time salad for me was lettuce, cucumber and tomatoes all chopped up in a bowl with no dressing and that was pretty much how I liked it. Sometimes I’d have a bit of spring onion or sliced radish but that was as adventurous as I’d get.

For some strange reason I had a massive aversion to dressing on my salad. Anyway, that changed one day after eating a side salad in a restaurant and now I’m converted. This salad is divine and is packed with Italian flavours, just pass the Prosecco and I’ll imagine I’m in Italy while I eat.

Avocado and Parma Ham Salad

Ingredients (serves 1)

A handful of rocket leaves
A handful of spinach leaves
4 pomodorino tomatoes (halved)
1/2 avocado (cubed)
2 slices of Parma ham
Parmesan cheese shavings
Balsamic vinegar
Extra virgin olive oil

Method

1. Put the rocket, spinach and tomatoes in a bowl.

2. Drizzle with the extra virgin olive oil and a good drizzle of balsamic vinegar. Toss everything together and transfer to your serving plate.

3. Add the cubed avocado and sliced Parma ham (I removed the fat from mine).

4. Finish with Parmesan cheese shavings and extra balsamic vinegar if desired.

Avocado and Parma Ham Salad

Today has really felt like spring so I’m hoping to enjoy a lot more salad lunches from now on and I plan share my experiments with you.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Just one last thing.

NOMINATE ME BiB 2014 FOOD

If you like reading my blog I would be totally thrilled if you would nominate me in the BiB awards. Thank you so much.

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Link up your recipe of the week

20 thoughts on “Avocado and Parma Ham Salad with Balsamic Dressing

  1. Sophie at Franglaise Cooking says:

    I love salads and these ingredients are up there with my favourites – rocket is by far my favourite “leaf”, and you can’t beat Parma ham, avocado and parmesan in your salad. Also balsamic vinaigrette is absolutely the best, hands down. Yum!
    #Recipeoftheweek

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

