Easy Roast Meatballs with Tagliatelle

Roast meatballs

This is one of those real comforting dinners that everyone enjoys. After all what’s not to like about beefy meatballs in a tasty tomato sauce, tossed in tagliatelle. When I serve this, meal times are stress free as everyone happily tucks in.

This recipe has evolved from my Beefy Meatballs with Bucatini Pasta recipe and as good as that recipe is I needed to adapt it to free up my time. So I thought why not try roasting the meatballs instead of standing at the hob pan frying them and it worked. So while the meatballs are roasting and the tomato sauce is simmering I’m free to do other things. In my busy house there’s always plenty to do.

Regular blog readers will know that I like to experiment with different pasta types however on this occasion I’ve gone for tagliatelle.

Roast meatballs

Ingredients (Serves 4 adults or 2 adults and 3 children)

Meatballs

500g lean mince beef
2 slices of wholemeal bread
1 tablespoon mixed herbs or Italian mixed herbs
1 large egg (beaten)
1 teaspoon of fine sea salt
Black pepper
1 tablespoon olive oil

Tomato Sauce

2 x 400g chopped tinned tomatoes
1 small onion (finely chopped)
1 teaspoon dried oregano
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
Black pepper
1/2 teaspoon dried chilli flakes (optional or amount according to taste)

400g tagliatelle
Parmesan cheese (finely grated)

Method

1. In a mini chopper or food processor whizz the bread until you get breadcrumbs.

2. In a large bowl mix together the mince beef, breadcrumbs, mixed herbs, salt, egg and a good grinding of black pepper. I tend to use my hands as it is easier to combine all the ingredients.

3. Once thoroughly combined take small chunks of the mixture and roll with your hands to get small meatballs about 3cm to 4cm in diameter. No need to be exact here but try to get them roughly the same size so they cook at the same time. Then set aside until needed in a non stick roasting tin.

4. To make the tomato sauce first heat the olive oil in a large heavy casserole pan and sauté the onions until soft.

5. Add the tinned tomatoes, dried oregano and a grinding of black pepper. Add the dried chilli flakes at this stage if you wish. I tend to add only 1/4 teaspoon of chilli flakes to half the tomato sauce, so the other half is chilli free and child friendly.

6. Bring to the boil and simmer until you have a lovely thick tomato sauce. Keep on a low heat stirring every now and again. Cook for approximately 30 minutes.

7. Meanwhile to cook the meatballs pre heat the oven to Fan 180c.

8. Drizzle over the olive oil then shake the pan so the meatballs are fully coated in the oil. Then roast the meatballs for 25 to 30 minutes until fully cooked through. Once cooked add to the tomato sauce.

9. Meanwhile, cook the tagliatelle in a large saucepan of salted boiling water, reserving a small cup of the cooking water for later.

10. Once cooked drain the tagliatelle and to the meatballs in tomato sauce along with a splash of the pasta cooking water. Heat through on the hob stirring continuously for about 30 seconds, then serve. Top with grated Parmesan cheese.

Roast meatballs

Enjoy with crusty garlic bread and a leafy rocket salad. I’d love to know if you try out my Easy Roast Meatballs, so don’t forget to leave me a comment in the box below.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Link up your recipe of the week

33 thoughts on “Easy Roast Meatballs with Tagliatelle

  1. Jacksrecipes says:

    Sounds and looks fantastic. Just a little tip for other meatball and sausage makers. When ready to roll take a lump and fry it till done, taste and adjust seasonings to taste. I find that this avoids bland mixes, not enough salt, not enough pepper, too little chilli you get the picture.

      • Jacksrecipes says:

        Hi Julie it’s me again. You inspired me tonight. I had some bought meatballs in the freezer and decided to defrost them for dinner. I made your tomato sauce, added a little sugar and salt. I then heated the already cooked meatballs in the sauce and poured everything over precooked udon noodles. It was superb, specially the sauce. Thank you so much. 😀

  2. jennypaulin says:

    your meatballs look delish. i must be lazy because I always oven cook my meatballs or add them to the slow cooker!! x

  3. BakedPotato Mummy says:

    Potato loves meatballs and pasta in tomato sauce. I usually make the sauce myself but buy the meatballs to save time. Being able to cook them in the oven is a great idea so next time I will definitely be making my own meatballs too. I’ve pinned this recipe ready 🙂

    • Julie says:

      That’s great to hear you’ll be making your own meatballs, it’s so easy and probably cheaper too. Thanks for pinning the recipe. 😊

  4. sarahhillwheeler says:

    Love the idea of oven cooking the meatballs and adding chilli, will give it a go. Have nit made meatballs yet myself, but have made burgers and sounds quite similar…. big plus is you know exactly what’s in them.

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

