Strawberry Brownie Ice Cream Sundaes

Strawberry Brownie Ice cream sundae

To create the perfect end to our bank holiday barbecue using ingredients bought from Morrisons for the Morrisons Mum campaign I made these gorgeous strawberry brownie ice cream sundaes. I’ve seen brownies used in ice cream sundaes in restaurants so I thought why not try it myself. The sundaes are so indulgent it’s true, but hey it was the bank holiday and a very special treat. To make the sundaes I’ve used fresh chopped British strawberries, chocolate brownie bites from the Morrisons bakery, Carte D’Or vanilla ice cream and a homemade sweet strawberry sauce. My children loved the sundaes but that’s no real surprise as I secretly knew they would.

Strawberry brownie ice cream sundae

Ingredients (Serves 4)

900ml Carte D’Or vanilla ice cream (I only used 3/4)
2 x 227g pack of strawberries (chopped into quarters)
1/2 box of Morrisons brownie bites
1 tablespoon icing sugar*

Method

1. To make the strawberry sauce, put the chopped strawberries from one pack in a mini chopper with the icing sugar. Whizz until puréed.

2. Place a sieve over a jug and then pour the strawberry sauce through the sieve. Press through until only the strawberry pips remain. The sauce is ready.

3. To make the sundaes pour some sauce into the bottom of each sundae glass, then add 2 brownie bites and then some chopped strawberries.

4. Add 2 scoops of ice cream, strawberry sauce, 2 brownie bites. Finally top with more ice cream, strawberries and a brownie and then drizzle on more strawberry sauce. Serve immediately.

Total cost £5.50
Cost per serving £1.375

*I already had icing sugar in my cupboard so I’ve not included it in the cost.

Strawberry Brownie Ice Cream Sundae

These sundaes were a great way to finish off our bank holiday barbecue and I’ll definitely be making them again.

If you can spare a minute or so I would be incredibly grateful if you could vote for me in the Brilliance in Blogging (BiBs) awards. I’ve been shortlisted in the Food category and I’m hoping to become a finalist. Click either here on the Voting Form or on the badge below which will take you through to a short online form which is quick and easy to complete.

VOTE FOR ME BiB 2014 FOOD

Thank you so much, I think it would make my year. 😀

Until next time.

Julie
x

Disclosure: For the purposes of this recipe and review Morrisons sent me Morrisons vouchers to spend in store, all opinions are my own and are completely honest. All the recipes are my own.

16 thoughts on “Strawberry Brownie Ice Cream Sundaes

  1. Le Coin de Mel says:

    These look yummy, Julie! I can see myself devouring one of those by the side of a pool somewhere hot and sunny! x

  2. The Free From Fairy says:

    I love ice cream sundaes! Especially with brownies in. We just had eton mess for pudding (the grown-ups!) and I have to say that ice cream sundaes and eton mess are probably my favourite deserts. Decadent and delicious!

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

