Pipe Rigate Pasta with Courgette, Mushroom and Pancetta

Pipe Rigate Pasta with Courgette, Mushroom and Pancetta

This savoury pasta dish with courgette and mushrooms in tomato sauce is brought alive by the inclusion of pancetta, which regular readers will know that I’m a huge fan of. I find salty pancetta makes any vegetable I choose to add to it taste really good. I’ve been rustling up this kind of meal for quite a few years now as it’s a fail safe dinner. You’ll find there are a couple of variations of it in the pasta section of the blog, so do check them out.

There are days when a super quick dinner is needed, particularly when there are after school activities to factor in. In the morning I take out a batch of this pasta sauce that I’ve stashed away in the freezer, let it defrost and then reheat that evening serving with freshly cooked pasta. Dinner is then ready in 10 minutes, without any stress. That’s got to be a win win situation, right?

Pipe Rigate Pasta with Courgette, Mushroom and Pancetta

Ingredients (Serves 2 adults or 4 children)

200g pipe rigate pasta
400g tin chopped tomatoes
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
1 medium courgette (chopped in quarter slices)
4 good size mushrooms (peeled and quarter sliced)
100g cubetti di pancetta
1/2 teaspoon dried Italian mixed herbs
Black pepper
Grated Parmesan cheese to serve

Method

1. Heat the olive oil in a lidded casserole pan and then sautΓ© the courgette until it starts to soften.

2. Add the mushrooms, pancetta and Italian herbs continue cooking on a medium heat until the mushrooms reduce down and the pancetta begins to crisp.

3. Add the chopped tomatoes and a grinding of black pepper, bring to boil and then simmer with the lid partially on for about 20 minutes, stirring every now and again.

4. Meanwhile, cook the pasta in a large saucepan of salted boiling water (I tend to leave out the salt if I’m cooking it for the children) until al dente.

5. Reserve a small cup of the pasta cooking water, then drain the pasta and add it to the sauce. Add a splash of the pasta cooking water and heat everything through for about 30 seconds. Serve with grated Parmesan cheese.

Pipe Rigate Pasta with Courgette, Mushroom and Pancetta

Thank you to everyone who took the trouble to vote for me in the Brilliance in Blogging awards, I really appreciate it. Unfortunately, I didn’t make the final six but I’m honoured to have made the shortlist, maybe next year! So thank you once again.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Link up your recipe of the week
26 thoughts on “Pipe Rigate Pasta with Courgette, Mushroom and Pancetta

  1. Lindsay says:

    This looks delicious. I always love mushrooms and courgette, but I hadn’t thought of pancetta. It would add a wonderful saltiness. Thanks for sharing.

  2. mumjd says:

    Sounds tasty. And I know exactly what you mean re needing quick meals. My son has to have no food an hour either side of his chemo medication, so I’m usually in a rush with tea. #recipeoftheweek

  3. Emily @amummytoo says:

    Your pasta dishes always look SO appealing. Very tempted by this one. Thanks so much for linking up with #recipeoftheweek – I’ve pinned and tweeted this post and there’s a fresh linky going live at 6pm this evening πŸ™‚

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

