Rosemary and Thyme Soda Bread

Rosemary and Thyme Soda Bread

At the moment I have some lovely rosemary and thyme growing in my garden. I’m delighted that they are doing so well as I’ve only ever managed to grow courgettes before. I’ve tried to grow carrots, onions and pumpkins but failed miserably! Wanting to use these fragrant herbs in my baking I thought that a flavoured soda bread would be a great way to do it. I’m really pleased with the result, the Rosemary and Thyme Soda Bread is packed full of flavour and was a huge hit with the whole family.

I’ve used a mix of plain wholemeal flour and regular plain flour, which gives the bread an ever so slightly nutty taste balanced by the fresh rosemary and thyme. When you first slice the soda bread you get the fantastic smell of the herbs, which is wonderful. I regularly bake all types of soda bread, as it is so incredibly quick and easy to make. If you’ve never tried baking it before I recommend you do, you’ll be impressed with your bake. You’ll find my other soda bread recipes in the Cakes and Bakes section or just type in ‘soda bread’ in the search box above.

Rosemary and thyme soda bread

Rosemary and Thyme Soda Bread

  • Servings: 1 loaf
  • Time: 50mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IngredientsRosemary and Thyme Soda Bread

225g plain flour
175g wholemeal plain flour
1 teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1 tablespoon fresh chopped rosemary
1 tablespoon fresh chopped thyme
300ml buttermilk

Method

1. Pre heat your oven to Fan 200c and line a baking sheet with baking parchment.

2. Put all the dry ingredients in a mixing bowl and mix with a wooden spoon. Then, make a well in the centre.

3. Pour in the buttermilk and stir the mixture, finally bring the dough together with your hands.

4. On a floured surface shape the dough into a ball and then flatten. Place on the lined baking sheet and sprinkle with plain flour.

5. Using a sharp knife cut across the dough vertically and horizontally, forming a cross in the dough.

6. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes, then cover with foil and bake for a further 10 minutes.

7. Once baked the loaf will be golden brown and sound hollow when tapped underneath. Allow to cool on a wire rack.

Rosemary and Thyme Soda Bread

Rosemary and thyme soda bread

They say soda bread is best eaten on the day made but in my experience it easily keeps for 2 or 3 days if you wrap it in foil. I recommend you try this soda bread with your favourite soup or try dipping it in extra virgin olive oil and balsamic vinegar. For me, it made a tasty lunch when I toasted a couple of slices and topped them with sautรฉed mushrooms.

I hope you enjoy it.

Happy baking

Julie
x

Link up your recipe of the week
Casa Costello

I’ve added this recipe to #CookBlogShare at Supergolden Bakes.
 photo 9af5d0df-b279-4c3c-92ad-fc98f562a39a_zpsaca21226.jpg

27 thoughts on “Rosemary and Thyme Soda Bread

  1. Le Coin de Mel says:

    Your bread looks yummy Julie! I have herbs in the garden, too! Must try! Pinning now. You’ll have to write about growing courgettes, I love them but am useless at growing food other than raspberries and herbs that just, well, look after themselves! X Mel

  2. Helen at Casa Costello says:

    Oh Julie, this looks incredible! There’s no way it would last 2-3 days in this house. I love the prospect of dipping it into balsamic sat outside with a glass of red. Thanks so much for joining in once again with #Bakeoftheweek x

  3. Lucy P (@supergolden88) says:

    This looks wonderful! I love rosemary in bread and, like you, I only ever manage to keep herbs alive – vegetables require commitment and time which I am lacking a t the moment. Thank you for linking to #CookBlogShare glad to have discovered your blog

  4. Emily @amummytoo says:

    That looks gorgeous! Can you come round and give me a bread making lesson, please (she says only half jokingly). Thanks for linking up to #recipeoftheweek – I have pinned and tweeted this post and there’s a fresh linky live at 6pm ๐Ÿ™‚

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

