Chorizo and Spinach Tagliatelle

Chorizo and spinach tagliatelle

This chorizo and spinach tagliatelle pasta dish has become one of my go to recipes when I need to cook something quick and tasty. Paprika infused chorizo, green goodness from the spinach and a little heat from the chilli flakes make this sauce a winner for me. Plus, it gets a big thumbs up from my husband too.

I always have packs of pre diced chorizo in the fridge and a bag of frozen spinach in the freezer, making this a great option if I’ve not had time to go shopping. I use the whole leaf frozen spinach which is usually frozen in cubes, typically one cube weighs about 25g so I use 4 cubes.

Chorizo and spinach tagliatelle

Here’s the recipe for Chorizo and Spinach Tagliatelle.

Ingredients (Serves 2)

200g tagliatelle
1 small onion (diced)
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
75g diced cooking chorizo
400g chopped tinned tomatoes
1/4 teaspoon chilli flakes
100g frozen spinach whole leaf (usually 4 cubes)
black pepper

Method

1. Heat the oil olive in a large lidded casserole pan. Then sautΓ© the onion until soft.

2. Add the diced chorizo. Cook the chorizo on a medium heat until it starts to crisp and release the paprika oils.

3. Add the tinned tomatoes, chilli flakes, frozen spinach cubes and a good grinding of black pepper.

4. Bring to the boil, then simmer with the lid on partially for 20 minutes. Stir every so often and break up the frozen spinach as it defrosts in the sauce.

5. Meanwhile, cook the tagliatelle in a large saucepan of salted boiling water until al dente. Reserve a small cup of the pasta cooking water.

6. Drain the tagliatelle and add to the sauce along with a splash of the pasta cooking water. Stir and heat through for 30 seconds. Serve immediately.

Chorizo and spinach tagliatelle

This recipe evolved from my Gnocchi with Chorizo, Spinach and Tomato Sauce, so if you like this tagliatelle recipe I recommend you try the gnocchi too.

My blogging friend Mel at Le Coin De Mel has an equally delicious recipe for Chorizo Pasta also, do check out her beautiful blog and recipe.

Until next time.

Julie
x

22 thoughts on “Chorizo and Spinach Tagliatelle

  1. Sharon says:

    This would be a perfect dinner for my husband and I on what I call in my house pot luck Friday, my children wouldn’t eat it πŸ™‚

  2. Le Coin de Mel says:

    I will definitely be trying this recipe. I haven’t have tagliatelle in ages… And I have spinach in the freezer! X thanks for the mention lovely!

  3. Corina says:

    It looks really tasty and if very similar to a quick pasta dish I make. I haven’t tried adding frozen spinach to mine though so that’s something I’d like to try now. I think I have one of those bags in the freezer with a just a few cubes left in so this would be perfect for it.

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

