Sweetie Vanilla Cupcakes

Sweetie Vanilla Cupcakes

Ok, look away now if you are on a healthy eating regime. My Sweetie Vanilla Cupcakes are only for people with a sweet tooth and those not watching their waistline. I’ve not baked these on a whim, I’m donating them to the school summer fair which is being held tomorrow. I’m hoping that the combination of moist vanilla sponge, topped with a generous swirl of vanilla buttercream and childhood sweets will appeal to young and old alike. Every penny raised will help fund new equipment and books for the school, so it’s a worthy cause and baking cupcakes is a small way I can help.

Sweetie Vanilla Cupcakes

Sweetie Vanilla Cupcakes

Here’s my recipe for Sweetie Vanilla Cupcakes.

Ingredients (makes 24)

320g unsalted butter (softened)
320g caster sugar
6 medium eggs beaten
2 teaspoon vanilla extract
320g self raising flour (sifted)
4 tablespoons semi skimmed milk

400g unsalted butter (softened)
800g icing sugar (sifted)
2 teaspoon of vanilla extract
1 to 2 tablespoons of milk
Haribo or other jelly sweets

Method

1. Pre heat the oven to Fan 165c or a conventional oven about 180c. Line two 12 hole muffin tins with cupcake cases.

2. Cream the butter and sugar until light and fluffy.

3. Gradually add the beaten eggs a little at a time, mixing well after each addition. If you think the mixture looks curdled add some flour.

4. Beat in the vanilla extract.

5. Carefully fold in the flour, I usually do this half at a time.

6. Gently stir through the milk to achieve a dropping consistency in your mixture.

7. Using two dessert spoons, spoon the mixture into the cases.

8. Place into the pre heated oven for about 20 minutes.

9. The cakes are ready when they are lightly golden and springy to touch. You can test by inserting a cocktail stick or a piece of dry spaghetti into the centre of a cake; if it comes out clean then they are done.

10. Allow the cakes to cool in the tins for about 10 minutes and then transfer to a wire rack to cool completely before icing.

11. To make the buttercream, beat together the butter and icing sugar until the mixture is light and airy.

12. Then, beat in the vanilla extract and milk, the desired consistency is not too stiff but firm enough to hold its shape.

13. Using an icing bag and a large star shape stainless steel nozzle, pipe a swirl of buttercream onto each cupcake and immediately decorate each cupcake with 3 sweets.

Sweetie Vanilla Cupcakes

This is my tried and tested vanilla cupcake recipe that never let’s me down. I hope you enjoy them.

Happy baking.

Julie
x

Link up your recipe of the week

I’ve entered this recipe into the #CookBlogShare linky at Supergolden Bakes.

 photo 9af5d0df-b279-4c3c-92ad-fc98f562a39a_zpsaca21226.jpg

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

35 thoughts on “Sweetie Vanilla Cupcakes

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Haha! I’m not so sure about famous cupcakes but yes hubby and the kids were most disappointed that they had all been sold. They were hoping to buy some. Thanks Sophie šŸ˜Š

  1. Jenny says:

    Wow these look absolutely fantastic and would be great for a kids party. I am just starting to plan my son’s 3rd birthday party. And we are huge fans of cupcakes. I will keep these in mind. Thanks for sharing. #tastytuesdays

  2. Sneaky Veg says:

    As ever these look absolutely lovely Julie! Would be really fun to make with my kids, although I suspect a fair few sweets wouldn’t make it onto the cakes!

  3. Honest Mum says:

    These look INCREDIBLE-perfect party cupcakes. I’ve eaten and eaten and eaten so many treats over the last month, I need to reign myself back to 80% healthy eating but I might have to make an exception with these! LOVE your photography too! Thanks for linking up to #tastytuesdays

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

