My Kitchen Cookbooks: Mary Berry’s Baking Bible

Mary Berry's Baking Bible

I really had no hesitation choosing Mary Berry’s Baking Bible as my next book to feature in ‘My kitchen cookbooks’, the section of my blog dedicated to reviewing my ever growing collection of cookbooks. The list of recipes I’ve baked from Mary Berry’s Baking Bible is so long that it’s most definitely one of my most used cookbooks.

Believe it or not I didn’t actually buy this book when first published. I was put off by the lack of photos and opted to buy 100 Cakes and Bakes by Mary Berry instead. After borrowing it from my local library I was completely persuaded to get my own copy. The Baking Bible is one of the most comprehensive baking books I own featuring over 250 classic recipes, including all the traditional favourites such as Madeira cake, Swiss Roll, Carrot Cake, English Muffins and Millionaires’ Shortbread.

The ‘Introduction and Techniques’ chapter is a must read for any new baker, as it guides you through baking terminology and tips for success. The book is then divided into chapters for different types of bakes e.g classic cakes, chocolate cakes, fancy biscuits and breads. At the end of the book there is a really helpful ‘Cake Decorations’ chapter which includes recipes and instructions on making almond paste, fondant icing, coulis and chocolate decorations.

After years of making a Victoria Sandwich the traditional way by creaming the butter and sugar first, I now only use Mary’s All-in-one method quite simply because it’s foolproof. I made a Pretty Pink Birthday Cake using this recipe earlier in the year and it really did taste amazing.

Pretty Pink Birthday Cake

Another favourite recipe of mine from the Baking Bible is Mary’s Chocolate Chip Brownies. There’s no faff with melting chocolate and I usually have all the ingredients stocked in my baking cupboard (yes, I really do have a baking cupboard!). The brownies are fudgey and very chocolatey, just how a good brownie should be.

If you’re after a quick and easy tasty bake then I recommend you try the Date and Cherry Butter Bars. They’re best described as a cross between a cake and a biscuit, they are quite moreish with a cup of tea.

Date and cherry butter bars

I can’t stress enough how delicious the Viennese Fingers are, they are seriously good. They are beautifully delicate in texture and have a luxurious buttery taste. Don’t be put off by the need to use a piping bag, as the recipe is pretty easy and worth a little bit of effort.

Mary’s Crown Loaf is a fantastic looking loaf of bread to bake. The crown loaf is constructed by baking 12 rolls together in a round cake tin. The individual rolls are light and soft inside with a good outside crust. My eldest daughter baked this crown loaf recently and she did a brilliant job, I think Paul Hollywood would be impressed too.

Crown loaf

Mary Berry’s Baking Bible has a wide range of recipes from simple and traditional to more complex and technical. It’s an essential book for any baking beginner and definitely worth a read too if you are a seasoned pro, there really is something for everyone. There are so many more recipes I want to try but deciding what to bake is difficult as there are so many. What’s your favourite recipe from Mary Berry’s Baking Bible? Let me know, maybe it will be my next bake.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

18 thoughts on “My Kitchen Cookbooks: Mary Berry’s Baking Bible

  1. EmmaMT from CakesBakesAndCookies.com says:

    This is one of my favourite baking books. Along with the British Bake off Show stoppers book it’s my go to- first off the shelf book. I think there is only one recipe I didn’t like from it and I’ve made practically everything in it! It’s a big winner. That Mary is THE baking guru!

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Thank you so much. I think splattered pages are sign of a good cookbook, shows the book is well loved too. I haven’t read Mary’s Ultimate Cake Book, I’m going to see if I can borrow a copy. ๐Ÿ˜Š

  2. Le Coin de Mel says:

    That looks like a must-have, but you mention the lack of photos… I am very ‘visual’ and if there are no appealing photos next to the recipes, I tend not to be tempted by them…

    • Julie McPherson says:

      This is the only downside of the book, there are some pictures but not enough. I agree I’m usually more likely to try a recipe if I can see what it is supposed to look like. That said, I think if every recipe in the book had a picture it would be enormous and probably push up the price. ๐Ÿ˜Š

  3. Honest Mum says:

    I feel the same as Mel, I need lots of photos in cook books. I do love MB though so might have to buy this (or steal Papa G’s copy)-he has a library of cookbooks at home, no joke! Thanks for linking up to #brilliantblogposts

  4. kiddyreviews says:

    These recipes look delicious! I’m not a baker but will happily eat anything that looks as good as your photos! Thanks for sharing on #britmumsreviews

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

