Pepper Flatbread Pizzas

Pepper Flatbread Pizza

These delicious Pepper Flatbread Pizzas are hugely popular with all my family. For me that makes them a winning dinner solution. I think the secret to these is the richly flavoured tomato sauce with herbs and balsamic vinegar. Pizzas can be a bit time-consuming but these are pretty quick to rustle up because I have a couple of cheats I use and even more so if you make the sauce in advance. My first cheat is that I use oval flatbreads from Marks and Spencer as the pizza bases which taste really good and second is I use frozen pre sliced peppers.

My children sometimes help me make these pizzas and they love feeling involved in preparing their own food. It’s a brilliant way to encourage any reluctant eater to try new pizza toppings.

Pepper Flatbread Pizza

Here’s the recipe for Pepper Flatbread Pizzas.

Ingredients (Serves 2 with extra sauce for 2 more pizzas)

400g chopped tinned tomatoes
1 teaspoon dried mixed herbs
1 teaspoon balsamic vinegar
Black pepper
M&S Oval Flatbreads (twin pack)
50g grated hard mozzarella cheese
Small handful of frozen sliced peppers

Method

1. Firstly, make the tomato sauce by putting the tinned tomatoes into a saucepan with the herbs, balsamic vinegar and a good grinding of black pepper. Stir the ingredients well.

2. Bring to the boil and simmer for 20 minutes stirring every now and again. As you only need half the sauce freeze the remaining half for another day.

3. Meanwhile, pre heat the oven to Fan 200c.

4. Lay the flatbreads on a non stick baking sheet. Spread the tomato sauce over the flatbreads leaving a gap around the edge.

5. Sprinkle on the cheese.

6. Top with the frozen peppers.

7. Bake in the oven for 8-10 minutes until starting to crisp.

I only literally had a minute to take the photo of this pizza as my daughter was waiting very patiently for her dinner. If I’m serving the pizzas for me and my husband I usually top each pizza with sliced pepperoni and serve with a rocket salad instead.

I hope you and your family enjoy these Pepper Flatbread Pizzas as much as mine do.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Link up your recipe of the week

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

32 thoughts on “Pepper Flatbread Pizzas

  1. Le Coin de Mel says:

    Julie, you are a genius! What a great cheat to be using flatbread as your pizza base! These look like ideal party food. If I could find free from flatbread, that would mean pizza for Jumpy! She would love that! Will send hubby on a mission!

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Thank you so much Mel. I made several of these pizzas for a family get together at New Year and they went down well. It would be great if your hubby can find free from flatbreads. I’ll also look out for them when I next go shopping and let you know if I find anything worth recommending. 😊

  2. sarahhillwheeler says:

    I’m all for short cuts if flavour isn’t compromised and these pizza flatbreads sound like a win-win. Boy has always refused peppers, although I caught him quietly eating one in Pizza Express, so am going to have to try this. One of my favouites, a great outdoor lunch!

  3. Emily @amummytoo says:

    Oh this looks perfect – pretty, light and yum. Thanks for linking up to #recipeoftheweek – sorry I’m a bit late over! Have Pinned this post and scheduled in a tweet. New linky just went live for this week πŸ™‚ x

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

