Chocolate and Ginger Cookies

Chocolate and Ginger Cookies

These Chocolate and Ginger Cookies are seriously good, I kid you not. In fact, my husband has broken his healthy eating regime for these, he absolutely loves them. The cookies are soft, ever so slightly chewy filled with dark chocolate chips and crystallised stem ginger chunks. Bitter dark chocolate is always delicious in cookies but combined with the subtle heat from the stem ginger takes these cookies to the next level. I hope you love them too.

Chocolate and Ginger Cookies

Chocolate and Ginger Cookies

Here’s the recipe for Chocolate and Ginger Cookies.

Ingredients (Makes 14)

175g unsalted butter (softened)
100g golden caster sugar
100g dark chocolate chips
100g crystallised stem ginger (chopped into small chunks) *
50g whole rolled oats
225g plain flour

*I used Neal’s Yard crystallised ginger sold in Holland & Barratt, I chopped the ginger into small chunks the same size as the chocolate chips.

Method

1. Cream together the butter and sugar together until thoroughly combined.

2. Mix in the chocolate chips, chopped ginger and oats.

3. Add the flour and mix until the mixture becomes a dough.

4. Line two baking sheets with baking parchment.

5. Divide the cookie dough into 14 pieces, roll each piece into a ball. Then, place the balls of cookie dough on the lined baking sheet and flatten until about 1cm thick. Smooth the edges of the cookies with your hands if they are cracked.

6. Place both the baking sheets in the fridge to allow the uncooked cookies to firm up, chill for at least 1 hour.

7. Pre heat the oven to Fan 160c.

8. Oven bake the cookies for about 20 to 25 minutes, the cookies will be pale gold when cooked. I recommend you take a look at the cookies after 20 minutes and if you think they need longer pop them back in the oven. Don’t over bake as they will lose their soft texture. I baked mine for 23 minutes.

9. Once cooked remove from the oven and leave on the baking sheets for 10 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to finish cooling.

Chocolate and Ginger Cookies

Chocolate and Ginger Cookies

With all this talk of baking cookies has got me thinking about the next series of the Great British Bake Off which starts on 6th August. Yay! I can’t wait to see what technical challenges Mary and Paul have for the new bakers, I bet it’s going to be brilliant.

Happy baking.

Julie
x

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

Casa Costello

I’ve entered this recipe into #CookBlogShare at Supergolden Bakes.

 photo 9af5d0df-b279-4c3c-92ad-fc98f562a39a_zpsaca21226.jpg

38 thoughts on “Chocolate and Ginger Cookies

  1. EmmaMT from CakesBakesAndCookies.com says:

    Oh you are a welcome distraction on a long Monday afternoon!

    So, your husband is on a healthy eating regime too? It’s not very helpful is it when you need a chief tester. Mine is so controlled he will try one cookie so you can guess who eats the rest! Mrs Hips over here!

    These look really deeelish and I have to say that your photography is top notch!

    Em
    x

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Oh, thank you Emma. I had a cookie earlier this afternoon, which went down a treat with a cup of tea. Brightened up my Monday. It’s a bit frustrating if you’ve baked something yummy for them to say no. That said, my children don’t usually complain. Hey, I don’t believe for a minute that you’re Mrs Hips. Thank you so much for your lovely comment on the photos, that means so much. I’m very much an amateur but I do really enjoy taking the pics. x

  2. Jess says:

    Wow Julie, these COOKIES, girl! They look perfect, and the combination of chocolate and ginger is a match made in Heaven. I’m emailing this to myself to try out for sure. Thanks for sharing!

  3. Mel says:

    These would have been perfect at the start of my pregnancies! Ginger always helped, but I found ginger biscuits way too dry for my liking. Ginger in a moreish cookie. I say yes!

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

