London’s Iconic Borough Market

Borough market

I recently spent a day at London’s iconic Borough Market. Located near London Bridge it’s undoubtably one of London’s best food markets. There’s a fantastic variety of fruit, vegetables, hot food, chocolate, cakes, breads, cheeses, cured meats, olive oils and drinks available to buy. In fact, I can’t think of anything you can’t buy there. There’s a real buzz about the place, the enticing smells and the friendly people make it a brilliant place to visit. Borough Market is steeped in history so I strongly recommend you pick up a market guide to learn more about it.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

I’m so pleased I found Konditor & Cook a fabulous cake shop, selling a delicious selection of cakes and brownies. I bought 4 of their regular brownies and they were the most fudgey chocolate brownies ever. On display in the shop were the most exquisite tiered cakes, with a really colourful show stopper in the shop window. I just could resist taking lots of photos.

The Olive Oil Company sells a vast selection of olive oils and balsamic vinegars. Although, I didn’t buy any I did buy two cute olive oil dipping bowls.

I visited Neal’s Yard Diary a wonderful cheese shop located on Park Street, after sampling lots of different cheeses I bought a wedge of Montgomery Cheddar.

At the end of our day my husband and children treated me to some gorgeous chocolates from Rabot 1745, Hotel Chocolat’s restaurant and bar selling cocoa inspired cuisine and chocolates. It’s most definitely a restaurant I’d like to eat in.

If you’re ever in London make sure you spare a few hours or ideally a day to browse the food stalls and shops of Borough Market. I think you’ll love it. I’m hoping I can go back around Christmas time to see what festive goodies I can buy.

Here’s a few more pics of my day.

Do look out for my next blog post which features a recipe using some of the ingredients I bought at Borough Market.

Until next then.

Julie
x

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

22 thoughts on “London’s Iconic Borough Market

  1. Le Coin de Mel says:

    Lots of great shots, Julie! Looks like a great day out. You made me want to go. That cheese is making me peckish!

  2. Mummy Tries says:

    Sounds like a fab day and you’ve captured the market perfectly with the gorgeous photos! I love this place but haven’t been for a few years, must rectify that asap πŸ™‚ #brilliantblogposts

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

