Yogurt Fruit Salad

Yoghurt Fruit Salad

When Sainsbury’s recently asked food bloggers to try out their salad sprinkles, I thought it would be a great opportunity to try something new. I was sent four different sprinkles to try, crispy onion, savoury oat, Italian style and dried fruit and honey seed.

Salad sprinkles

I love the serving suggestion tip on the packet of the dried fruit and honey seed sprinkle, which inspired my Yogurt Fruit Salad recipe. This colourful sprinkle is a mix of dried apricots, orange flavoured cranberries, toasted pumpkin seeds and honey coated sunflower seeds. I used some of my favourite fruits for the recipe but it really doesn’t matter which fruits you use, just choose your favourites. To boost the flavour of the 0% fat yogurt I added a little vanilla and honey for extra sweetness.

Yogurt Fruit Salad

  • Servings: 2
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IngredientsYoghurt Fruit Salad

1 medium banana
8 small strawberries
12 red grapes
24 blueberries
6 tablespoons natural 0% fat yogurt
1/2 tablespoon runny honey
1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract
30g Sainsbury’s dried fruit and honey seed sprinkle

Method

1. Hull the strawberries and slice the banana, then distribute all the fruit equally between two bowls.

2. In another bowl mix the yogurt, honey and vanilla extract together. Then drizzle the flavoured yogurt over the fruit.

3. Add the sprinkles on top. Serve immediately and enjoy.

Yoghurt Fruit Salad

For the other sprinkles I made a simple salad with a mix of watercress, rocket and spinach leaves, with pomodorino tomatoes and cucumber all tossed in a balsamic vinegar. I put the sprinkles in small serving bowls and we all helped ourselves to the ones we fancied. The Italian style sprinkle, a mix of toasted pumpkin and sunflower seeds, toasted pine nuts, dried onion, dried sundried tomato and dried tomato was most definitely the favourite. It really jazzed up the salad and I’m sure I’ll use it again.

We also really enjoyed the crispy onion sprinkle which is a mix of dried red onion, toasted sunflower seeds, dried red proper and dried green pepper. I think it would make a tasty alternative to croutons if served with a bowl of warming tomato soup. The savoury oat sprinkle flavoured with rosemary was lovely, I think it would make an excellent topping for oven roasted fish.

Salad sprinkles

Don’t miss out on future blog posts, sign up for email notifications or follow me on twitter.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Disclosure: Sainsbury’s sponsored me to write this post. All opinions are honest and my own. The recipes are my own.

2 thoughts on “Yogurt Fruit Salad

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

