My Kitchen Cookbooks: Mary Berry Cooks the Perfect

My kitchen cookbooks

Every year as autumn approaches there always seems to be a flurry of new cookbooks hitting the book shop shelves. So like any true Great British Bake Off fan I couldn’t wait to get my hands on Mary Berry’s new book titled Mary Berry Cooks the Perfect, which features all new recipes. Published officially on 1 September by Dorling Kindersley with a RRP of £25, I pre ordered it online. However, the estimated delivery date was far too long for me to wait so after spotting it in a bookshop ahead of the publication date, I cancelled my online order and bought it straight away.

The book is divided into sections Soups, First Courses, Fish and Shellfish, Poultry and Game, Meat, Pasta and Rice, Vegetables, Salads, Puddings and finally Cakes, Small Bakes and Bread.

I feel this book is probably aimed more at the novice / intermediate cook. However, don’t take that as a criticism or let it put you off if you are more a more experienced cook. Each recipe is accompanied by a large photograph with clear step by step instructions. In addition, there are ‘Keys to perfection’ along side each recipe to help you achieve perfect results. If you are watching the calories you’ll be pleased to see each recipe has a calorie count per serving too.

I’m quite partial to banana cake, so was very keen to try my hand at baking Mary’s Banana Loaf with Honey Icing.

Banana cake with honey icing

The banana loaf is moist and the chopped pecans provide a lovely contrast in texture. For me, the special part of the cake is the drizzle of honey icing on top which is delightfully sweet and works perfectly. If you want to bake a cake for a coffee morning with friends then this is the cake to bake, it’s a simple recipe and tastes absolutely delicious.

Banana cake with honey icing

I’ve book marked lots of other recipes to try out including Curried Lentil and Spinach Soup, Quick Haddock with Tomato and Puy Lentils, Steak and Guinness Pie, Greek Lamb Pilaf with Orzo, Spiced Dorset Apple Traybake and Hot Cross Bun Loaf.

I hope you have enjoyed reading this instalment of My Kitchen Cookbooks. Do let me know if you have the book too and if you have tried any of the recipes.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

9 thoughts on “My Kitchen Cookbooks: Mary Berry Cooks the Perfect

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

