Apple and Blackberry Crumble

Apple and Blackberry Crumble

I’ve been told this is the yummiest crumble I’ve ever made. Using seasonal tart blackberries and glorious Bramley apples made this a delightful crumble to be enjoyed with custard (my preference), ice cream (the kids favourite) or cream. This mix of fruit has the perfect balance between sweetness and sharpness. I promise, you won’t be disappointed with it.

We enjoyed our crumble after our non traditional Sunday lunch of sausages and mash, it went down a treat with everyone. I hope you enjoy it too.

Apple and Blackberry Crumble

Apple and Blackberry Crumble

  • Servings: 6
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IngredientsApple and Blackberry Crumble

Crumble topping

225g plain flour
75g unsalted butter (cold and cubed)
65g light muscovado sugar
35g golden caster sugar
50g porridge oats

Apple and Blackberry filling

450g-500g Bramley apples (I used one very large apple)
1 tablespoon water
225g blackberries
75g golden caster sugar
1 teaspoon cinnamon

Method

1. Peel and slice the apple, place in a saucepan with the water and heat gently until beginning to soften. Then transfer to a shallow pie dish.

2. Meanwhile, make the crumble topping by rubbing the butter into the flour until it resembles breadcrumbs. Then, stir in both types of sugar and the porridge oats.

3. Scatter the blackberries over the apple.

4. Mix golden caster sugar and cinnamon together, then sprinkle over the blackberries and apple.

5. Pre heat the oven to 180c Fan. Spread the crumble topping across the sugared fruit so it’s completely covered. Then bake the crumble for 40 minutes until the top it’s golden and the fruit is soft. Enjoy with custard, ice cream or cream.

Apple and Blackberry Crumble

I’ve got a funny feeling I’ll be making it again this weekend.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Link up your recipe of the week
Casa Costello

I’ve entered this recipe into #CookBlogShare at Supergolden Bakes.

 photo 9af5d0df-b279-4c3c-92ad-fc98f562a39a_zpsaca21226.jpg
Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com

33 thoughts on “Apple and Blackberry Crumble

  1. Angela M (@daisyangel1) says:

    Love a crumble and yours looks fabulous, great photos. There has certainly been an abundance of apples and blackberries this year. For a change this week I made a Apple and Blackberry version of Eve’s Pudding very tasty indeed.

    Angela – Garden Tea Cakes and Me

  2. Camilla says:

    Lush, lush, lush! I am determined now to make a Blackberry & Apple Crumble as my OH hates blackberries but this was my favourite crumble at school and I’ve not had it since – shall make some individual ones so he can’t complain:-) #TastyTuesdays #CookBlogshare

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.