Pasta Masterclass with Giovanni Rana

Giovanni Rana Pasta Masterclass

I was totally thrilled when I received an email saying that I’d won a place for me and a guest at a Pasta Masterclass with Giovanni Rana in his London restaurant. The competition was organised in conjunction with Foodies 100 and required entrants to create a dish using Giovanni Rana’s Italian Indulgence fresh pasta. Take a peek at the my competition entry, Chicken with Rosemary Ravioli with Tomato, Mushroom and Rosemary Sauce.

My mum and I headed into London to the Giovanni Rana restaurant located in the newly developed area of Regent’s Place. The restaurant is contemporary styled and perfect for a city lunch or family meal. I didn’t realise but I managed to snap Mr Rana sitting down when I took the photo of the outside of the restaurant.

Mr Rana lives in Verona, Italy and had come over especially for these masterclasses. He doesn’t speak any English but his very lovely daughter in law Antonella acted as translator and demonstrator for the class. We were shown how simple it was to combine two ingredients, flour and eggs and turn them into fresh pasta dough.

Giovanni Rana Restaurant

It was great fun participating in a small and friendly class environment, I really felt that I learnt a lot about making fresh pasta by hand. As I kneaded the dough, Mr Rana who was stood next to me said ‘Perfetto’, which I was delighted with.

As were going to make tortellini and ravioli, we made a tasty filling of fresh spinach and ricotta cheese. We then proceeded to roll out the dough into a large circle and cut out smaller circles for the tortellini to fill and shape. We later made ravioli using the same filling. For some reason I found the tortellini much easier to learn, so I’m planning on creating my own recipe soon.

As a wonderful treat we then dined in the restaurant enjoying an amazing three course meal and of course a glass or two of wine.

Our starter was a selection of Italian cured meats and cheeses served with a fruit chutney, which was sublime. I also got to try Porchetta for the first time.

For my main, I opted for the Pappardelle with Duck Ragu as I’d heard duck ragu was delicious. I wasn’t disappointed, it tasted divine and was not like any other ragu I had eaten before.

We were then brought a selection of sweet filled ravioli, one of which had an apple sauce filling that was simple gorgeous and a chocolate filled ravioli too. Then, followed a tasty apple cake and a chocolate lovers dream dessert, a jam jar filled with white chocolate panna cotta.

After an inspiring and truly enjoyable day, we didn’t leave empty handed we were given a fab goodie bag filled with lots of wonderful products. Thank you so much to Giovanni Rana, Antonella Rana, everyone at the Giovanni Rana restaurant, Wildcard and Foodies 100 for the most incredible experience.

I’m hoping that I can make some fresh pasta very soon, so watch this space.

Until next time.

Julie
x

7 thoughts on “Pasta Masterclass with Giovanni Rana

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

