Apple and Sultana Sweet Soda Bread

Apple and Sultana Sweet Soda Bread

A few weeks ago, I experimented with a sweet soda bread recipe. I wasn’t quite right but I knew that it had the potential to be really tasty. So after a bit of tinkering I came up with this delightful apple and sultana sweet soda bread recipe. Packed full of flavour from the fruit and a subtle hint of mixed spice making this sweet soda bread a delicious breakfast or afternoon snack. I recommend you serve it sliced spread with a little butter, although it is moist enough to eat without.

This recipe is so incredibly easy and super quick, as it contains no yeast. In fact you don’t knead the dough at all, it couldn’t be simpler. I think you’ll enjoy it too.

Apple and Sultana Sweet Soda Bread

Apple and Sultana Sweet Soda Bread

  • Servings: 1 loaf
  • Time: 50mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IngredientsApple and Sultana Sweet Soda Bread

400g plain flour
1 teaspoon bicarbonate of soda
1Ā½ teaspoon ground mixed spice
1 Royal Gala apple
125g sultanas
40g golden caster sugar
300ml buttermilk
1 teaspoon demerara sugar

Method

1. Pre heat your oven to Fan 200c and line a baking sheet with baking parchment.

2. Peel and chop the apple into 5mm dice.

3. Put the flour, bicarbonate of soda, mixed spice, diced apple, sultanas and caster sugar in a mixing bowl and mix with a wooden spoon. Then, make a well in the centre.

4. Pour in the buttermilk and stir the mixture, finally bring the dough together with your hands.

5. On a floured surface shape the dough into a ball and then flatten. Place on the lined baking sheet and sprinkle with the demerara sugar.

6. Using a sharp knife cut across the dough vertically and horizontally, forming a cross in the dough.

7. Bake in the oven for 30 minutes, then cover with foil and bake for a further 10 minutes.

8. Once baked the loaf will be golden brown and sound hollow when tapped underneath. Allow to cool on a wire rack.

Apple and Sultana Sweet Soda Bread

I’m currently reading Dan Lepard’s book Short and Sweet, which I’m finding really inspiring. Have you read it? Please let me know if you recommend a particular recipe, as I can’t decided which to try first.

Until next time, happy baking.

Julie
x

I’ve added this recipe to #CookBlogShare at Supergolden Bakes.

#CookBlogShare
Link up your recipe of the week
Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com
24 thoughts on “Apple and Sultana Sweet Soda Bread

  1. Charlotte Oates says:

    You read my mind, I was wondering earlier today if you can make sweet soda bread and then you post this! I was thinking apple and raisin too (which is pretty close).

    Look yummy and I love the fact that it’s much quicker to make than regular sweet dough – I just don’t have to patience to let it prove properly.

  2. Sneaky Veg says:

    Haven’t made a soda bread for ages, you know how you just forget something even exists! I’ll definitely be making one next week now. I too love Short and Sweet. Everything I’ve tried has been great, but I particularly remember the ginger and macadamia cookies as being incredibly moreish…..

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Yes, I’ve heard about Mel’s lovely crusty bread. I’ve not tried it but it’s something I’d like to try.

      If you try the sweet soda bread, let me know how you get on. I hope you enjoy it. Thanks Sophie šŸ™‚

  3. lucyparissi says:

    I was also thinking of making soda bread – it’s so good when it’s warm out of the oven! But I have to admit never having made sweet version. This looks absolutely delicious – yet another amazing recipe linked to #CookBlogShare Julie!

  4. Becky says:

    Mmm, this looks lovely, Julie! I’ve always been a fan of fruit loaves/breads, especially with a cup of tea, so this is right up my street- thanks for sharing! #tastytuesdays

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

