Richard Corrigan Demonstrates How to Cook Game

Richard Corrigan

I was recently very privileged to be invited to a feast event at Sainsbury’s head office in London with none other two Michelin star chef Richard Corrigan. Richard was there to help promote and inspire home cooks about the new range of game products Sainsbury’s will be launching in November.

Drawing on influences from South America and Spain we were in for a treat. As you can see from the photos the food looked fantastic and tasted out of this world.

The first recipe Richard prepared was Venison Ceviche with Crab Apples. This was a stunning dish using a loin of venison and I think would make an amazing starter if hosting a dinner party at home.

Venison Ceviche with Crab Apples

Venison Ceviche with Crab Apples

The next recipe Richard rustled up was a Venison, Red Cabbage Slaw and Walnuts. Using a haunch of venison steak this time roasted in the oven until medium rare. This dish had a real zing to it from the orange zest, which I loved.

Venison, Red Cabbage Slaw and Walnuts

Venison, Red Cabbage Slaw and Walnuts

My favourite dish of the evening was this incredible Grilled Partridge with Sweetcorn, Preserved Lemon and Chorizo. For me anything served with chorizo is going to be good. I’ve never eaten partridge before and I’m definitely going to eat it again.

Grilled Partridge with Sweetcorn, Preserved Lemon and Chorizo

Grilled Partridge with Sweetcorn, Preserved Lemon and Chorizo

The final dish of Poached Pheasant with Apple, Chestnut and Pickled Pumpkin had an autumnal feel. Richard used a technique of poaching the pheasant in a freezer bag with orange zest, Calvados, chocolate, cinnamon and chilli resulting in a succulent piece of game.

Poached Pheasant with Apple, Chestnuts and Pickled Pumpkin

Poached Pheasant with Apple, Chestnuts and Pickled Pumpkin

Having never eaten any game before I was unsure what to expect but I was open to trying new taste experiences and have been won over. I will definitely try game when I see it on the menu in a restaurant and I plan to try venison sausages soon.

Thank you Richard Corrigan and Sainsbury’s for a very enjoyable and enlightening evening.

Until next time.

Julie
x

6 thoughts on “Richard Corrigan Demonstrates How to Cook Game

  1. Ginger says:

    OMG – this looks amazing! I’d love to have the recipe for the ceviche! I do love game and am looking forward to having some for our Christmas dinner šŸ™‚ My butcher will get a deer’s backbone for us but it means we’ll have to buy the whole lot, so it’s a bit of an investment …

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

