Chorizo Style Sausage and Bean Casserole

Chorizo style sausage and bean casserole

I was recently asked by Sainsbury’s Bank to write about my perfect night in. As a busy mum of three very lively children, I’m quite often exhausted by the end of the school week. So for me the perfect night in now that the dark nights are creeping is enjoying a delicious home cooked meal, drawing the curtains and curling up on the sofa watching TV. OK, please don’t tell me I’m boring, that’s just the way I like it. I’m more than happy to spend the evening watching Downton Abbey, however my husband is not so keen and would much rather watch an action film instead. So to create that perfect night in for both of us once the kids are tucked up in bed, we reach a compromise and settle down to watch usually a good thriller or maybe a romantic comedy with the emphasis on comedy rather than romance!

My warming chorizo style sausage and bean casserole is the kind of food I crave in autumn and it’s ideal for creating that perfect night in for two. It’s brimming with flavour and easy to rustle up as well.

Chorizo style sausage and bean casserole

Chorizo Style Sausage and Bean Casserole

  • Servings: 2
  • Time: 2hrs
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IngredientsChorizo style sausage and bean casserole

6 chorizo style pork sausages (I used Sainsbury’s Taste the Difference sausages)
1 tablespoon olive oil
1 onion (diced)
1 large carrot (diced)
1 stick of celery (diced)
1 red pepper (cut into 2cm squares)
½ teaspoon smoked paprika
¼ teaspoon ground cumin
400g tin of haricot beans in water
400g tin chopped tomatoes
salt and black pepper

Method

1. In a large lidded casserole pan heat the olive oil, then brown the sausages all over. Remove the sausages.

2. In the casserole pan sauté the onion, carrots, celery and red pepper with the smoked paprika and cumin until everything begins to soften (about 10 minutes). Add a bit more oil if it starts to catch at the bottom of the pan.

3. Return the sausages to the pan. Add the tinned tomatoes, then fill that same tin with water and pour into the pan. Add the drained haricot beans too. Season with salt and pepper.

4. Bring to the boil, put on the lid and place in a pre heated oven at 180c Fan for 1¼ to 1½ hours.

Serve the casserole with plain rice or creamy mashed potato. Enjoy!

For your chance to win the ultimate perfect night in package including a 40″ HDTV, £250 of Sainsbury’s vouchers and a top 10 DVD selection courtesy of Sainsbury’s Bank simply describe your perfect night in (the ‘enter here’ button will take you to the Sainsbury’s Bank website).

Enter Here

Entries must be submitted by Friday 14th November and the winner will be picked at random on Monday 17th November. Only UK entrants are eligible.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Disclosure: Sainsbury’s Bank came to me with the opportunity to write about my perfect night in, I received vouchers and DVD’s in return. All opinions are honest and my own, the recipe is my own. To enter the giveaway click on the entry button, which will take you to the Sainsbury’s Bank website whereby you can complete your entry. Sainsbury’s Bank are responsible for the giveaway and the accompanying terms and conditions.

I’ve added this recipe to the #CookBlogShare linky at Supergolden Bakes.

#CookBlogShare
Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com
15 thoughts on “Chorizo Style Sausage and Bean Casserole

  1. Sarah (@tamingtwins) says:

    This looks so perfect for a Sunday night spot of Downton. I’m now torn though, Downton and Homeland on at the same time has blown my mind..! It’s too much excitement. What a fab competition too, off to enter now! x

  2. lucyparissi says:

    A perfect night in with home cooked meal is actually my perfect night, period. This casserole looks perfect for the colder weather heading our way. Thanks for linking to #CookBlogShare

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

