Cranberry, Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies


Cranberry, Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies

Now it’s November I’m officially counting down to Christmas. Oh yes, I’ve already down loaded a Christmas countdown app for the kids (they did ask, so I obliged), dug out my Michael BublΓ© Christmas CD and I’m planning on baking my Christmas cake next week. This year I’m going to be super organised buying presents and writing cards early, no more last minute shopping or fretting for me.

When Sainsbury’s asked food bloggers to come up with ideas for edible gifts for giving, I began thinking of the traditional foods we eat at Christmas, my absolute favourite being Christmas dinner itself. No Christmas dinner is complete without cranberry sauce for the turkey, so with the humble cranberry in mind I’ve created these delightful cookies. The cookies are packed full of tangy sour cranberries, crunchy green pistachios and sweet white chocolate chips. Stored in elegant Kilner jars, then dressed with Christmas ribbon and tags, these cookies make the ideal Christmas gift for children to give to grandparents or teachers. It’s a straight forward recipe so I’m sure older children would have fun baking them by themselves.

These cookies are incredibly moreish, so bake plenty otherwise you might eat them all before the big day.

Cranberry, Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies

Cranberry, Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies

  • Servings: 16
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IngredientsCranberry, Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies

175g unsalted butter (softened)
100g golden caster sugar
100g white chocolate chips
100g dried cranberries
50g pistachios (chopped)
225g plain flour

Method

1. Cream together the butter and sugar together until thoroughly combined.

2. Mix in the white chocolate chips, dried cranberries and pistachios.

3. Add the flour and mix until the mixture becomes a dough.

4. Line two baking sheets with baking parchment.

5. Divide the cookie dough into 16 pieces, roll each piece into a ball. Then, place the balls of cookie dough on the lined baking sheet and flatten until about 1cm thick. Smooth the edges of the cookies with your hands if they are cracked.

6. Place both the baking sheets in the fridge to allow the uncooked cookies to firm up, chill for at least 1 hour.

7. Pre heat the oven to Fan 160c.

8. Oven bake the cookies for about 20 minutes, the cookies will be pale gold when cooked. Don’t over bake as they will lose their soft texture.

9. Once cooked remove from the oven and leave on the baking sheets for 10 minutes, then transfer to a cooling rack to finish cooling.

Cranberry, Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies

Giving a homemade gift shows real sentiment, I think the lucky recipient of a jar crammed full of homemade cranberry, pistachio and white chocolate cookies would be very happy indeed.

Cranberry, Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies

Until next time, happy baking.

Julie
x

Disclosure: Sainsbury’s sponsored me to write this blog post. All words are my own. All opinions are honest and my own. The recipe is my own.

I’ve added this recipe to the #CookBlogShare linky at Supergolden Bakes.

#CookBlogShare
Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com
TamingTwins
49 thoughts on “Cranberry, Pistachio and White Chocolate Cookies

  1. Mel says:

    Julie, these babies are right up my street! I would never have thought of putting pistachios with white choc and cranberries but now I have seen your recipe, I am thinking, “WoW,” and I want to try them. Are you bringing some to BlogFest by any chance? xxx

  2. Charlotte Oates says:

    These look delicious. I think I’d struggle to give them as gifts, they wouldn’t last that long!! How far in advance can they be made?

    I love Christmas baking, for a start it always makes my kitchen smell so lovely and festive. I’m supposed to be working now but I’m very tempted to nip to the kitchen and make some mincemeat instead. What are your favourite things to bake at Christmas?

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Thanks Charlotte. I would say the cookies would keep for about a week in an air tight container, but I find we eat ours much before that. My favourite bakes at Christmas are my Christmas cake, which I’ll bake very soon and cookies of course.

  3. Becky says:

    Julie, these look amazing! I am tentatively hovering on the outskirts of Christmas, I love it but don’t want to peak too soon, haha! I love that these cookies have pistachio in, in fact, more recipes should contain pistachio! #tastytuesdays

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Thanks Jenny, that’s so sweet of you. I just love the flecks of red, green and white in these cookies, makes me feel Christmassy. The Kilner jars are adorable aren’t they, I can see me getting a bit of a collection!!

  4. tamingtwins says:

    I love everything about these cookies Julie (and the fact that you’re on countdown already obviously!) Great combo of flavours and the photos are beautiful too. I like this combination on chocolate park as it looks so Christmas-y! Thanks for linking to #festivefoodfriday.

  5. lucyparissi says:

    Just beautiful – you have a gift when it comes to cookies I think! I would love to get a big batch of these – thanks for linking to #CookBlogShare

  6. Margaret says:

    Hi Julie, would love to give these as a gift! How long will they keep in a killer jar? They would’nt last very long in my house!
    Margaret

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

