Have you baked your Christmas cake yet?

Christmas Cake 2014

Have you baked your Christmas cake yet? If you haven’t now is the ideal time, allowing you plenty of time to feed your Christmas cake with rum or brandy before the big day. Quite a few years ago, I found a superb recipe in a Women’s Weekly Cookery and Craft Special and ever since then it has been my go to Christmas cake recipe. The kind editor at Women’s Weekly gave me permission to publish the recipe on the blog last year, so you can find it here.

The recipe is really easy to follow and the cake tastes amazing, it’s a guaranteed way of impressing your friends and family on Christmas day. I’m sure you too will be delighted with the result.

I baked my Christmas cake yesterday (a little later than usual!), now it’s wrapped in baking parchment and foil. When I remember, I’ll feed it with a drop or two of dark rum. Then, during the week before Christmas I’ll begin to decorate it with marzipan and sugarpaste.

Here’s a few of the Christmas cakes I’ve made before.

Happy Christmas Baking!

Julie
x

10 thoughts on “Have you baked your Christmas cake yet?

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Thanks Charlotte. The Frosty the snowman and red robin cake was the one I made last year and it’s my favourite too. I’ve never made my own marzipan, although I’ve heard homemade marzipan tastes great.

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

