Quick Puff Pastry Mince Pies


Puff Pastry Mince Pies

It’s only 5 weeks to Christmas, yes 5 weeks! Really, where has the time gone? I’m feeling quite good about my Christmas preparations, my Christmas cake is baked, my family have been invited for Christmas dinner and I’ve done about half of my Christmas shopping. This year I’m on track to get Christmas organised, stress free (I hope!).

I do love a good mince pie to put me in a festive frame of mind. Well to get into the spirit of all things festive, I rustled up these super Quick Puff Pastry Mince Pies and they went down a treat with everyone. They really are the ultimate cheat using shop bought puff pastry and mincemeat but no one need ever know! With so much to do around Christmas time, a few shortcuts and cheats makes life a little easier, don’t you agree?

Puff Pastry Mince Pies

Quick Puff Pastry Mince Pies

  • Servings: 10
  • Time: 45mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients Puff Pastry Mince Pies

375g ready rolled puff pastry
Β½ jar of mincemeat (I used half of a 411g jar)
Β½ tablespoon demerara sugar
1 egg

Method

1. Pre heat your oven to Fan 180c.

2. Remove the pastry from the packaging and allow to rest for 10 minutes.

3. Unroll the pastry and using a 7.5cm round pastry cutter cut out 20 pastry rounds.

4. Evenly space 10 pastry rounds on two non stick baking sheets, then place about 2 teaspoons of mincemeat in the centre of each.

5. Moisten the inside edge of the pastry rounds with a little water and place the remaining pastry rounds on top to form the mince pies.

6. Make an egg wash by beating the egg with a tablespoon of water. Brush the egg wash over the mince pies, then sprinkle with demerara sugar. Pierce each pie on the top in the centre with a knife to allow steam to escape.

7. Bake in the oven for 20 to 25 minutes until golden brown and puffed. Enjoy with a dollop of extra thick cream.

Puff Pastry Mince Pies

Until next time.

Julie
x

TamingTwins
Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com
#CookBlogShare

I’ve entered this recipe into #CookBlogShare at Supergolden Bakes.

32 thoughts on “Quick Puff Pastry Mince Pies

  1. Le Coin de Mel says:

    They look lovely, Julie! We always have a jar of our cranberry mincemeat in the fridge and I will definitely get some puff pastry to try making these when the little monkeys don’t fancy making our usual sweet pastry.

  2. tamingtwins says:

    Julie these are my absolute favourite type of mince pie, they are my quick go to stand by but you have made them look super elegant and wonderful. I love the styling and light in the photos too. Thanks for linking to #festivefoodfriday xxx

  3. nessjibberjabberuk says:

    My husband goes through mince pies so quickly at this time of year that I need something much quicker to prepare. I made 12 yesterday and they have all gone!

  4. lucyparissi says:

    I am not a huge mince pie fan (there, I said it) but these look so lovely. Maybe with some added apple? Perfect for the school Christmas fare (pins immediately). Thanks for linking to #CookBlogShare

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

