My Kitchen Cookbooks: Nigella Christmas

Julie's Family Kitchen

I simply couldn’t let December pass by and not feature Nigella Christmas by Nigella Lawson in ‘My Kitchen Cookbooks’ series. Nigella Christmas is an iconic Christmas recipe book full of enticing and decadent delights. It oozes Christmas charm and is a joy to browse through whilst planning your Christmas feast. I received my copy as a Christmas present quite a few years ago and it’s a book I turn to every year for festive inspiration. It has recently been republished with a stylised front cover but I quite like my retro looking copy.

Nigella has all manner of Christmas meals catered for in this book from informal suppers to the main event featuring roast turkey. There’s a huge variety of side dishes, starters, canapés and cocktails too.

The Spruced Up Vanilla Cake recipe is one I’ve been meaning to try for a long while, in fact I bought the Nordic Ware Holiday Tree bundt tin especially a couple of years ago but just never got round to it. I have to admit the thought of using a bundt tin for the first time was a little scary, I had visions of bits of cake clinging to the side and the resulting cake looking a complete disaster. As you can see from the picture, I shouldn’t have worried. I sprayed the tin inside liberally with cake release spray and the cake came out with no bother at all. The Spruced Up Vanilla Cake really has the WOW factor and is an ideal centre piece for a Christmas party.

Julie's Family Kitchen

I don’t know about you but I actually like brussels sprouts. Inspired by Nigella’s recipe, I now always cook my brussels sprouts with chestnuts and pancetta. I don’t bother with the Marsala wine as Nigella recommends but it’s definitely a great way to liven up sprouts.

My favourite chapter in Nigella Christmas has to be ‘Joy to the world – Christmas baking and sweet treats’, I just wish I had enough time to bake everything. One year I baked two batches of the super chocolatey Christmas Chocolate Biscuits for my girls to take into school for the class Christmas parties. I’ve also baked the very delicious Cranberry and White Chocolate Cookies as presents for the class teachers and the school lollypop lady.

I don’t usually make a Christmas pudding as I always make a Christmas cake instead. This year I’m seriously considering making the ‘Chocolate Pudding for Christmas Pudding Haters with Hot Chocolate Sauce’, it looks like a chocolate lovers dream dessert and I think it will please everyone. There’s an amazing chapter on edible gifts, perfect if you like to make and give your own Christmas hampers. Nigella really has got everything covered with a fabulous selection of chutneys, flavoured vodkas and sweet things.

Nigella Christmas is a cookbook I’d definitely recommend and would make a wonderful Christmas gift for the foodie in your life.

Until next time.

Julie
x

15 thoughts on “My Kitchen Cookbooks: Nigella Christmas

  1. Tom Ellis (@Elstro1988) says:

    It is my bible this time of year as well. I have cooked numerous recipes from it. Sadly not the spruced-up vanilla cake (yet). If you haven’t tried it, the chilli jelly is essential for cold turkey/ham sandwiches, as is the Christmas Chutney.

  2. The Silver Teaspoon says:

    I have a copy of Nigella’s ‘Feast’ which has quite a few Christmas recipes in it. It’s always my ‘go to’ book for anything regarding cooking turkey or glazing ham. She really does has Christmas nailed in my opinion!

  3. The Free From Fairy says:

    That cake looks incredible!! I am not a fan of Nigella! I find her recipes too rich and they rarely come out how I hope. It is interesting to hear other people’s opinions! This year I am making a chocolate log as an option against Christmas pudding…last year it went down a treat and is the preferred option for the kids.

  4. NickkiT says:

    This is my ultimate Christmas cookbook – every year I look forward to curling up with a coffee and reading through it, planning my festive menu. I could go on and on about so many of the recipes but I especially love the spruced up vanilla cake, chilli jelly, peanut brittle and Tia Maria Christmas cake. Oh, and the Christmas chocolate cookies!

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

