Food Blogging Tips and Tricks

Julie's Family Kitchen
Food blogging requires a wide skill set, food photography, recipe testing, recipe writing and editing just to name a few. Here I’m going to share with you some tips and tricks used by food bloggers. I’m not an expert but these are things I’ve learnt since I started blogging. I hope you find it useful.

Some of these might seem a tad obvious but in that rush of trying to get out your blog post it’s easy to forget or accidentally miss something out.

Recipes

  • Structure you recipe to includes a list of ingredients, number of servings and a method.
  • List your ingredients in the order that they are going to be used, make sure every ingredient is included.
  • Be as specific as you can with quantities, rather than say half a tin of chopped tomatoes state half a 400g tin of chopped tomatoes.
  • If you know an ingredient is hard to find, say where you buy it from.
  • Make it clear what type of oven you are using e.g gas or fan oven. Quoting the appropriate temperature and whether you need to pre heat it.
  • With baking recipes always state the cake tin size, it’s so important for a successful result.

Photography

  • Try to photograph your food in natural light, it always looks more appealing in a naturally lit environment. It’s particularly difficult in winter but make the most of those precious daylight hours.
  • I use white foam boards to bounce light back onto the food, they are also useful in creating a neutral or blank background.
  • Think about presentation, styling can be great but don’t go overboard.
  • Use props that enhance the mood or the setting. A drink, cutlery or the ingredients work well. Just experiment, to see what you like best.
  • I take lots of photos varying the composition of the food and any props.  I then edit the photos on my Mac book to make the best of the photos I’ve taken.
  • Look at Foodgawker.com and Pinterest for inspiration but try to develop your own style.
  • A couple of my first accepted Foodgawker submissions were taken using my iPhone, that said I now have a Nikon D3200 dSLR camera I’m getting to grips with.
  • I recommend that you watermark you photos with your blog name.

Further recommended reading

  • Plate to Pixel by Helene Dujardin.
  • Food Blogging for Dummies by Kelly Senyei.
  • Other food blogs but don’t copy just be yourself.

I’ll back with more recipes and reviews very soon.

Until then.

Julie
x

13 thoughts on “Food Blogging Tips and Tricks

  1. EmmaMT from CakesBakesAndCookies.com says:

    Love these tips – especially the one about shooting in natural daylight. I follow a few bloggers who obviously have to take photos in the evening after work and I know their bakes would look tons better if they were shot during the day. I suppose it’s just not always possible.
    I work from home and have had biscuits sitting around for days with a ‘don’t eat’ sign on them till I can get a moment to shoot them. I think we need more hours in the day!

    Em
    x

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Hi Emma

      I’m looking forward to the spring, as the opportunity to take better photographs is greater. I guess I’m lucky too being a stay at mum I can fit in blogging around my home life and looking after the children. x

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

