Celebrate Breakfast Week 25th – 31st January

Julie's Family Kitchen Seeded Bagel with Banana

Did you have breakfast this morning? I did but worryingly 1 in 4 people in the UK are skipping breakfast. For whatever reason that may be, it is quite a startling fact. The Shake Up Your Wake Up campaign is about spreading the message that breakfast is important for everyone.

Breakfast Week

Why is breakfast so important?

1. It provides you with much needed energy for the start of the day.

2. It is a great way of getting essential nutrients into your diet.

3. After being asleep for several hours your blood sugar levels drop, eating breakfast helps regulate that.

4. It can help improve your mood. I know from experience that if I have not eaten breakfast, I’m pretty grumpy.

To get involved in celebrating Breakfast Week (25th to 31st January) and have the chance to WIN A SPA BREAK, take a picture of your ‘breakfast moment’ and upload it to Facebook.com/shakeupyourwakeup. See the shakeupyourwakeup.com website for full terms and conditions. You can also follow the campaign on Twitter @breakfastweek #BreakfastWeek.

If you are stuck for breakfast idea why not try a lightly toasted bagel with sliced banana. I recommend a seeded bagel or cinnamon and raisin bagel, both work brilliantly with the banana making it a tasty and filling breakfast.

Julie's Family Kitchen Seeded Bagel with Banana

I would love to hear about what you like to eat for breakfast. If you have any delicious breakfast recipe ideas, please share them in the comments box below.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Disclosure: The Shake Up Your Wake Up campaign is run on behalf of 35,000 arable farmers in the UK that grow cereals such as wheat, oats and barley. I have not received any payment for this blog post but received a selection a of healthy breakfast items to try.

12 thoughts on “Celebrate Breakfast Week 25th – 31st January

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Hehe, I’ve been guilty of that too. I’ve not eaten peanut butter in years, as I never liked it as a child. That said, I think your taste buds change as you get older so I might just have to try it. x

  1. Corina says:

    I’m a bit stuck in my ways at breakfast but I do very occasionally manage to make American pancakes. I’d love to have a bagel for breakfast but I very rarely think to buy them.

  2. Michelle Reeves (bodfortea) says:

    I’m ALL about breakfast. Porridge always with Agave syrup (low GI) and sometimes the crunch of some home made granola or some juicy raisins. Breakfast is SO important, it really sets me up for the day and helps me get to lunchtime without nibbling! I used to love bagels but now that I’m eating wheat free I haven’t found a gluten free alternative that is as nice… any ideas?

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

