Annabelle Jane Cake School Review

Annabelle Jane Cake School Julie's Family Kitchen

I’ve always wanted to develop my cake decorating skills and learn the art of sugarcraft. My girls birthdays are coming up soon so it was the perfect time for me to enrol in a class ahead of making their special birthday cakes. I booked myself on the Introduction to People Modelling class at the Annabelle Jane Cake School in Maidstone, Kent. The course is designed to teach you how to make a cute baby wrapped in a blanket and an adult sat in an armchair using modelling paste.

Annabelle Jane Cake School

I arrived about 15 minutes before the class and was welcomed immediately by Barbara the course tutor. I used that time to have a good look around the amazing shop. I’m hoping my photos do it justice. The shop stocks the most comprehensive range of cake decorating equipment and edible products I’ve ever seen. There is an impressive display of decorated cakes and for those really keen to take their cake decorating more seriously there is a cake club you can join.

I’ve had a go at making cake decorations using ready made fondant icing in the past, some were successful and others not so much. I quickly found out that you need to combine a magic product called CMC or Sugarcel to regular sugarpaste/fondant so that it becomes modelling paste. Now I know this, hopefully my sugar models will retain their shape.

During the class we were given the option to either use a mould or model the faces of our sugar characters ourselves. I decided to have a go at the modelling myself and was pretty pleased that I was able to form a face out of modelling paste.

As the day progressed our models took shape. By far the hardest aspect was painting on the eyes, I could feel myself tensing up because I was concentrating so hard. Painting the features is definitely a skill that requires practice and a lot of patience. Overall, I’m very happy with the models, they aren’t perfect but I had so much fun making them and hope to get better with practice.

I really felt as though I had learnt a lot in one day, I certainly feel more confident about making my own sugar models in the future. If you are looking to learn more about cake decorating and live in the South East of England I highly recommend you check out the Annabelle Jane Cake School.

I want to say a huge thank you to Barbara who was a delightful and knowledgeable tutor, plus thank you to Annabelle who gave me permission to publish the photos of her shop.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Disclosure: I paid for the Introduction to People Modelling course myself. I’ve written this review because I wanted to share with my readers my experience. I have not been paid or sponsored in any way for my review by the Annabelle Jane Cake School.

Brilliant blog posts on HonestMum.com

9 thoughts on “Annabelle Jane Cake School Review

  1. myrecipebookuk says:

    These are brilliant. I’m just disappointed that I don’t live nearer!!

    Great tip about using CMC. I make cakes for my boys and sometimes struggle to get my models to hold their shape. Where do you get it from?

  2. Mel says:

    These little decorations look great, Julie! I would never have the patience to make anything like it, but I love a pretty cake (made by someone else!). Looking forward to your creations in the near future. x

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

