Healthier Carrot Cake (Sugar-Free) and Natvia Review

Healthier Carrot Cake

Is it really possible to make a delicious sugar-free cake? The answer most definitely is YES. I am fully aware of how addictive sugar is and being someone who enjoys cakes, biscuits and chocolate this bothers me a lot. I’m careful as I can be when it comes to feeding my children, I try to make sure they eat a balanced diet with plenty of fruit and vegetables. Although, I do allow them cake and biscuits in moderation, fizzy drinks are an absolute no no and the drink of choice is water.

So when Natvia contacted me asking me to try out their sugar-free sweetener I was intrigued to say the very least. I’ve never liked the taste of sweeteners so whilst I was researching Natvia it became obvious to me that if the claims that it doesn’t have an unpleasant aftertaste were true, then it was worth trying.

Natvia

Natvia contains no calories and is unlike other sweeteners in that is doesn’t contain any sugar at all. Natvia is a natural sweetener made by combining the best Stevia extract and Erythritol. Natvia can be used in exactly the same quantities as sugar, for example if a recipe asks for 100g of sugar then 100g of Natvia can be substituted.

I decided to bake a carrot cake with the Natvia samples I was sent, not any old ordinary carrot cake but one that was as healthy as I could create without compromising on taste using wholemeal flour and coconut oil. Well, I can honestly say I’m delighted with this deliciously moist carrot cake with its tangy cream cheese frosting. The cake itself is baked well and has a great crumb structure. I really don’t think you can tell that it is sugar-free at all and there is certainly no unpleasant aftertaste.

Healthier Carrot Cake

Healthier Carrot Cake (Sugar-Free)

  • Servings: 10-12
  • Time: 1hr
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

IngredientsHealthier Carrot Cake

Carrot cake

150g Natvia baking pack
150ml coconut oil
3 large eggs
225g plain wholemeal flour
2½ teaspoons baking powder
1 teaspoon ground mixed spice
175g grated carrots
75g sultanas

Cream cheese frosting

125g Natvia icing mix
125g full fat soft cheese (I used Philadelphia)
zest of ½ orange
1 tablespoon fresh orange juice

Method

1. Pre heat the oven to Fan 160c Fan.

2. Grease and line the bottom of a 23cm (9 inch) round spring form cake tin.

3. Melt the coconut oil by putting it in a bowl in the pre heating oven for a few minutes, then set aside to cool. To make the cake put all the cake ingredients in a bowl and mix well until thoroughly combined.

4. Spoon the cake mixture into the tin and bake for 40 minutes, until springy to touch and a skewer comes out clean.

5. Allow the cake to cool for 10 minutes then remove from the tin and allow to cool fully on a cooling rack.

6. Make the cream cheese frosting by mixing the remaining ingredients well for a few minutes, then spread on top on the cake. Enjoy!

Healthier Carrot Cake

Healthier Carrot Cake

I was sceptical about trying Natvia but I guess my curiosity got the better of me. If you are looking a sugar free alternative sweetener then it is a good substitute.

Until next time.

Julie
x

Disclosure: I was sent free samples of Natvia baking pack and Natvia icing mix. I have not been sponsored or paid for my review. All opinions are honest and my own. The recipe is my own.

Tasty Tuesdays on HonestMum.com
19 thoughts on “Healthier Carrot Cake (Sugar-Free) and Natvia Review

  1. Allison Lehky says:

    Hi Julie, I’m on a refined sugar free period at the moment do this is of great interest. I note that you use cocnut oil also. What other oil could be used – I find coconut oil very expensive ?

    • Julie McPherson says:

      Hi Alison, I appreciate coconut oil is a bit expensive. I would suggest substituting it for sunflower oil instead, although I haven’t tried it that is what I would use as a replacement.

  2. gymbunnymummy says:

    I ove Carrot Cake but rarely make it due to the sugar & oil so this sounds like a fab alternative! I’ve started a new linky #SundaySweets for recipes just like this, I would love it if you popped over & linked up 🙂

  3. Honest Mum says:

    Oh wow must try Natvia, sounds and looks a fab alternative. Gorgeous post and some of you finest pictures (always fab but these are WOW). Thanks for linking up to #tastytuedays

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.

