Smoked Paprika Beans and Chorizo

Smoked paprika beans and chorizo 2

Between Christmas and New Year I went out for a lovely meal at a local Italian restaurant. My starter was goats cheese wrapped in pan fried aubergine with a rocket salad and a balsamic glaze, which tasted really good. My main meal was an unusual choice for me as I would normally go for the pasta option (no surprises there!), it was roast chicken topped with pancetta on a bed of beans and spinach. Both were absolutely gorgeous and I was most pleased with my menu choices.

Whilst enjoying my dinner I kept thinking that this meal I was eating would be something I could recreate at home. Well, it’s not quite the same and I have included chorizo in mine and left out the roast chicken, so it’s more of a Spanish inspired dish than Italian. So really, it is a completely different dish but the inspiration came from there. All that said, I was rather pleased with my creation, the smoked paprika and cayenne pepper gave the haricot beans just enough heat without being too spicy making this meal a real comforting plate of food.

Made in one casserole pan it saves on the dishes too.

Ingredients (Serves 2)

1 small onion
1 medium carrot
1 stick of celery
75g cubed cooking chorizo
1 tablespoon olive oil
410g tin haricot beans
400g tin chopped tomatoes
1/2 teaspoon smoked paprika
1/8 teaspoon cayenne pepper
Salt and black pepper

Method

1. Heat the olive oil in a lidded casserole pan.

2. Very finely chop the onion, carrot and celery then sauté in the pan for about 7 minutes on a medium heat.

3. Then, add chorizo and cook for a further 7 minutes.

4. Drain the haricot beans and add the to the pan along with the tomatoes.

5. Using the tomato tin fill it up half way with water and add to the pan.

6. Add the smoked paprika, cayenne pepper and a grinding of black pepper then bring to the boil. Reduce the heat and place the lid on partially simmering for 30 minutes.

7. Stir every now and again, adding salt if necessary. Then serve.

I enjoyed my beans topped with rocket leaves and a seeded buttered roll.

I have entered this recipe into the Spice Trail Challenge organised by Vanesther at Bangers and Mash. This months challenge is to include paprika in a dish.

I do like reading your comments, so don’t be shy and leave your thoughts in the box below.

Until next time.

Julie
x

7 thoughts on “Smoked Paprika Beans and Chorizo

  1. Vanesther says:

    This looks like a very delicious winter warmer, and paprika is a wonderful spice to use with beans. A perfect recipe for January’s Spice Trail challenge – thank you for sharing.

  2. jenny paulin says:

    oh look at the wonderful deep red colour of this dish. i so love the sound of this and it would be perfect on a wintry day too. i would love this but my OH would not as he does not like chorizo – the fool! x

    • Julie says:

      Yes, it really does feel like a winter dish. Shame your OH doesn’t like chorizo. I keep sneaking chorizo into all sorts of dishes. Glad you like it, thanks. x

Thanks for stopping by. I'd love to know what you think.